How I Used the Pomodoro Technique to Beat Procrastination

Muhammad Nouman
3 min readSep 1, 2023

--

I’ve always been a procrastinator. I would put off tasks until the last minute, and I would often find myself stressed and overwhelmed. I worried about it and always thinking how to overcome this .I needed to find a way to overcome my procrastination, and fortunately I got opportunity to complete a course on Amal Academy related to productivity. In this course I have read about a technique named as Pomodoro Technique. I have decided to apply this technique into my Exam preparation of my ACCA upcoming paper.

procrastination

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management method that breaks down work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. The technique is named after the tomato-shaped kitchen timer that the inventor used.

To use the Pomodoro Technique in my revision of exam, I first divided my revision into small, manageable tasks like one accounting standard revision as one session. Then, I set a timer for 25 minutes and focused on one task until the timer went off. After each 25-minute interval, I took a short break of 3–5 minutes. After four Pomodoro's, I took a longer break of 15–20 minutes.

I found it very difficult to maintain the focus at first but I would like to to confess that this technique helped me a lot to overcome procrastination and make my day more productive .I used the Pomodoro Technique for last two days, and I found that it helped me to revise more effectively than I ever had before. I was able to focus for longer periods of time without getting distracted, and I was able to get more done in less time.

Challenges and Learnings

I faced a few challenges when I first started using the Pomodoro Technique. One challenge was staying focused for the entire 25-minute interval. I was used to multitasking and checking my phone constantly, so it was hard to sit down and focus on one task for that long. However, I found that the more I used the technique, the easier it became to stay focused.

Another challenge I faced was dealing with distractions. I would often get distracted by my phone, or by people talking around me. However, I found that setting my phone to silent and putting it away helped me to focus. I also found that it was helpful to find a quiet place to work where I would not be interrupted.

Overall, I learned a lot from my experience using the Pomodoro Technique. I learned that it can be a very effective way to improve my focus and productivity. I also learned that it is important to find a quiet place to work and to deal with distractions effectively. I plan to continue using the Pomodoro Technique in the future to help me study for exams and complete other tasks.

Implications for Future Learning

I plan to continue using the Pomodoro Technique in the future to help me study for exams and complete other tasks.. I am confident that the Pomodoro Technique will continue to help me to improve my focus and productivity.

Conclusion

The Pomodoro Technique is a simple but effective way to improve focus and productivity. If anyone struggling with procrastination, I highly recommend giving it a try. It may just be the solution you are looking for.

I hope this blog post has inspired you to try the Pomodoro Technique. It’s a great way to improve your focus and productivity, and it can help you overcome procrastination.

--

--