Quitting a Stable Job During Pandemic and Following Dreams: Story of a Crazy B*tch

Windy Noviyanti
4 min readJul 19, 2021

--

Before heading to the main point, I want to write a little about some changes I’ve had since the beginning of this year.
At the end of November 2020, my colleague and I were agreed to start a new business. That time I’ve been work at the company for more than a year as HR staff. It wasn’t easy, especially during the pandemic. And also, I did not really comfortable working there. The only thing that made me stay was the pandemic itself (you know, not easy to get a new job to pays the bills).
So at the beginning of December 2020, I sent my resignation letter. My boss did not approve it at first and asked me to reconsider it for 3 days. But I’ve made my decision. A month later, I completely quit, without any trouble.
Many people think I was crazy, leaving a steady job and start to build my own business. I might say the job was steady, as even the wave of pandemic happened and a lot of companies closed, my company still hold on to us without cutting our salary (except for sales and marketing as most of them didn’t work because the malls are closed). Oh, by the way, the company is a distributor of a smartphone brand from China (I don’t want to mention a name, but if you know me, you know which company I talk about. Hahaha). I have some defensive points about my decision.
First of all, I think in my country, the mindset of young people is being a successful employee and make a lot of money. But here is my thought, if a company can pay that big salary which makes their employee rich, it means the owner can earn much more money than the employee gets. Why ain’t I become the owner instead?
Now let’s talk about statistics. By 2021, Indonesia has about 3.47% of entrepreneurs. Compared to other South East Asia countries such as Malaysia with 4.74%, Thailand 4.26%, and the highest is Singapore with 8.76% entrepreneurs amongst the citizen in each country, Indonesia still has a small number of entrepreneurs. I’m not blaming anyone here as starting a business is not easy, AT ALL. It needs a lot of capital and high risks. There might be some businesses you can start without capital (drop shipper, for example). But not gonna lie, more capital you got, more money you might earn (with the right management).
Okay now, let’s go back to my personal perspective. I am 25 years old (it is not really easy to say about age, but yeah I love being old and wise. LMFAO), and I have a limit for working age. For example, after 40 or 50 it might be hard to get a new job once I leave some other place. In my country, narrowing to the people I know personally, people on age 40+ who still working usually been working at the same company for a long time, start at 20ish. But to get a new one, that needs harder work. What do I do when I reach the limit? That’s one of the thoughts I had.
Before I’ve been talking about money. Who doesn’t care about money? Just like a quote I heard before which I don’t really know who write it first; money is not everything but everything needs money. That’s the spirit I have. IF I still working as an employee, maybe in 5 to 10 years I could be rich. But that’s all. Nothing more. BUT if I start a business, I might be helping people to get a job. Get a proper life for their family, and even learn something from me. I might change others’ difficulties. At the beginning of 2021, there are 8.75 million unemployed people in Indonesia. IF there are 1.75 million new entrepreneurs start and each hires 5 employees, all of the unemployed people could get a job. Well, this just theory, might be different from the real action. But my point is, any business starts will help unemployed and economic problems. So here I am not only talking about being rich but also helping people.
After all, if someone asking me which one is better, being an entrepreneur or employee, I’d say NONE. Each has its own good and bad which can’t be compared. It is like comparing apples with avocadoes. Both can’t be compared. Consider your situation, and choose the best one for yourself.
For people who have a business or have a thought to start a new one, good luck. I wish you the best and a successful business. Never give up no matter what.
And for those who still want to be an employee, good luck. I wish you the best and a successful career. Do your job with heart and maximize your performance.

--

--