Basic OSINT: How to find out where a picture was taken without geo data (Part 2)

A DigitalOverdose 2021 Autumn CTF Writeup

Nyan Tun Zaw
5 min readOct 11, 2021

This is a continuation of the earlier writeup I have done. If you have not read the part 1, I would suggest to read it first although this article can also be understood independently.

OSINT Challenge #4: Dare Enter the mirror world

For this challenge, we were given the photo below and have to find out where it was taken from.

As usual, I do my initial observations so that I know where to start from:

  • There is a street fighter character statue in front.
  • However, there are also other characters that are not from street fighter behind so probably not a street fighter exclusive store.
  • Noticed the word Capcom behind so likely a Capcom store.

With that, I tried to search “Capcom Store Japan” and came across the location details as below. From the description, it seems like this is located inside a mall called “Shibuya Parco Shopping Mall”.

--

--

Nyan Tun Zaw

Loves writing and reading books. Cybersecurity and AIML enthusiast.