Py Log # 11: Kinematics (sorta)

nubb
2 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Wassup Medium! I’m back with an actual, on-time Py Log for this final story of the week. There isn’t much to chat about, but we may as well get on with it!

(Kikuri!!!)

So What Have I Been Up To Lately?

A teeny bit really. I actually only did Unity work today (Thursday). “But why only Unity?” I honestly just didn’t want to spent time on it. Like, c’mon, I have a 4-day break ahead of me, I (like anyone) just want to chill and forget about my problems.

With that out of the way, let’s actually talk Unity. I’ve started setting up shooting mechanics for Stellarscape. So far, I’ve imported the AR Model into Unity, as well as a tiny bullet model to be shot from the AR.

(Textures from Blender didn’t import, so it’s all blank…)

There isn’t a 3D player model yet, but that’ll be up and running soon hopefully. But to sum it up, I basically did prep for programming the shooting mechanics. The idea is that the user can do single-shots in semi-auto, and hold Left Mouse for full-auto (I’ll paste the script in a future log!). When the player shoots the bullet, we’re then going to send the bullet model in a predetermined direction (forward, duh.) and at a specified velocity (might try and calculate the velocity of a 5.56 round with whatever barrel length the model has).

There’s a lot to it, but honestly, I just hope it works.

Final Thoughts

Pretty quick log this time around (as usual). There isn’t much to chat about before I end this, but once again, HUGE thank you to Ella Harris, Alexandra Grosu and Alex Rotar for over 118 claps on the last Py Log. You guys actually made my face light up after I saw that number.

Anyways, that’s all for this week. See you guys next Monday with a new story!

(Thanks for all the support guys!!)

--

--

nubb

Some guy programming and telling the world about it || Check out my projects here: https://github.com/nubbsterr