There was a security breach in my company for over a year and I didn’t even notice it

Nuno Moutinho
2 min readJan 31, 2018

--

In my previous startup, we were a very small team (<5 people) but at the peak of development, we were 7. After 2 of the guys decided to leave, I started the off-boarding process where, among other steps, I had to remove them from all the services we were using (AWS, Bitbucket, Stripe, Trello, Slack, etc…). Well, unfortunately I left one service behind and one of the guys ended up having access to our AWS account for one more year without my knowledge.

Of course the guy was 5-star and he also didn’t know he still had access to that service. So, one year after, I finally detected it and he was promptly removed from that service. However, that left me thinking “What if that guy wasn’t 5-star and had left my company angry or annoyed with something? What if he had bad intentions?”. He had access to our AWS account for Christ sake!

Source

There was a security breach in my company and I didn’t even noticed it! My startup had only 7 people, but what about companies with 50, 100, 500 people? Imagine an ex-Google employee still having access to all the code because someone forgot to take him off from their Github account! That’s when I came up with Teamarooo!

The idea of Teamarooo is to give you, as an Admin, a list of all your employees using all your services. Connect your services to Teamarooo and we automatically give you the list of all your employees with the option to revoke their access to one/all your services. You can either search by employee or service. That simple! You can start using Teamarooo without any change of your services, it is almost “plug-and-play”.

We are preparing to launch our Beta version and you can Sign Up now to be among the first to use our service. We will support many services such as Bitbucket, Github, AWS, Google Analytics, Microsoft Azure among many others.

I truly believe this topic deserves more attention and I hope Teamarooo can help you keep track of all your employees and services in a safer and easier way.

--

--