My First Ionic3 theme

Nuruddin Badawi
3 min readMar 29, 2018

--

The story began with Ionic v1

3 years ago, the product owner at my company wanted a simple application for Android and iOS and I had one month to finish it! Since I had an experience with JavaScript I chose Ionic, I thought it was the best option- and it was.

Shift your mind

This was my first step toward building my own stuff. I like my job at the company, but the other side of my didn’t like keep working for people but wanted to build my own assets and products.

*Start minding your own business. Keep your daytime job, but start buying real assets, not liabilities.

*The single most powerful asset we all have is our mind.

— Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki.

2018, My First Idea

I had many ideas to build on my own, but as a first step I needed to do something in short time to get the wheel running whether it succeeded or not, I chose to start with an Ionic theme.

Let’s see the theme…

Neno

Overview

The design of Neno theme is high-quality pack based on fluent design system, includes 30+ screen templates, 7 most popular categories for login/register, Store, Profile, Social, Walkthrough, All pages are using lazy loading.

Theme Structure

Menus : All menu styles inside app/app.html all menu is disabled and each on has id to activate it inside the page.

Sample Menu

Style files

1- components styles like card, fab, menu.

2- icons contains icomoon icons declaration.

3- ionic-over that contain all overriding ionic variables .

4- theme for general theme style.

5- derived-variables where variables are calculated from the values set in the next file.

6- initial-variables where you define variables by literal value.

7- mixins declare some SASS mixins like makeIcon to generat ionic icon from other icon font library.

New Features

As you know, Ionic menus has three types: overlay, reveal and push, I used a new type called scale

What this menu type scale do? 🤔

Scaling Menu

just add the type in menu component.

<ion-menu type="scale">

Demo

Here’s a demo you can try directly on your phone using Ionic View, install the app then use this id “26424fde” to see the demo directly on your phone.

Screen Shots

6 screens deferent styles you can used to introduce your application first running.
6 different style for login and register page.
6 different style for profile pages

Finally

Please send me any feedback you find to my email or using ionic view built-in feedback system.

Theme Link: https://market.ionicframework.com/themes/neno-theme

Purchased link: https://gumroad.com/l/QBvL

Thanks for reading, Best Regards.

--

--