My Younger Self

a couplet

Nurul Huda Jamaluddin
1 min readSep 10, 2023
My younger self, circa 2005. Picture by Nurul Huda Jamaluddin.

Shackles on my younger self,
That I put upon myself,
The fear of being declined,
Puts me on the sideline.

I was proud of my younger self,
For I have been able to put trinkets on the shelf,
My sunny face shines like the summer sky,
And I was rather naïve, never sly.

Sometimes my idealistic younger self,
Dreamt of fairies and elves,
Surprised by the jest,
Of the Witches of the West.

If I have one thing to tell to my younger self,
Puff up your chest and be senseless,
Forget the cheer, no less the jeer,
And get yourself out of the gutter,
Your youth is your strength,
Your older self will have you to thank.

P/S: This is my recent attempt at couplet as I usually write free verse poem. It is an experiment. I welcome feedback!

Author’s note: Thank you for taking the time to read my work. Do consider joining as a member to support me and thousands of other great writers here on Medium. If you like my work, you can follow me, add me to your mailing list or leave a tip (next to the mail subscription button).

--

--

Nurul Huda Jamaluddin

Former journalist and web content editor. Caffeine addict. I have too many interests, but my main are music, poetries, K-content and candles IG: @serinicandleco