Book Review: Letters To Milena by Franz Kafka

Nusaiba Binte Talha
1 min readSep 18, 2021

--

When I first read Kafka’s work, which was “The Metamorphosis”, I was in awe with the story, with how dark and intriguing it was, and I knew I loved the book. I remember still feeling a little unsure if I really understood the essence of the story, and saying that in order to do so, I need to dive into his life and perceive his perspectives. I could not ask for a better book to do that.
Kafka’s “Letters To Milena” gave me more than what I asked for. It invited me into Kafka’s head, told me to sit down with his thoughts, served me with all the struggles his beautiful soul went through — his chronic lung disease, his mental issues, him being aware of how sensitive he is and still unwilling to seek refuge, rather taking everything all in, good and bad, fearlessly yet with fear; him being tormented by love and life and everything in between and beyond. It left me with a feeling of great love and respect towards him. He was naive, artistic in every way, extremely talented and too precious for this world.
This is just my second Kafka read, and I don’t care if it’s too early or just too “anything” to consider him as one of my absolute favourite authors from now on, perhaps my most favourite one.
And I hope after all he’s been through, he has found peace now.

--

--

Nusaiba Binte Talha

On literature, Islamic philosophy and whatever piques my interest. Food for thought, served fresh.