(Instapaper + Genius) + IFTTT = mvse

Nicholas Van Exan
2 min readSep 6, 2015

--

I took some time away from my regular projects to code a fun little side project this afternoon. It’s called ‘mvse’ (read: muse) and you can see it here: http://mvse.io

Mvse is a simple rails app that provides a nice visual display of the highlights that I make in Instapaper or via Genius. It uses IFTTT’s fantastic maker channel to push my Instapaper and Genius highlights into my rails app in real time via JSON. With the maker channel and IFTTT’s DO Note app, I can also post personally authored notes / messages to mvse right from my phone. The front-end was designed and hand-coded using a mix of Bourbon, Neat, JavaScript, jQuery and CSS transitions to handle the animations.

The app is super simple and does little more than provide a glossy display and archive for all of my Instapaper and Genius highlights. But as someone who reads a lot, and as someone who is passionate about the promise of annotations on the web, I’m pretty happy with this small accomplishment / platform to share with the world the { ideas / insights / musings } that I find so insightful.

If there’s enough interest, I may build this out into a broader platform so that anyone with an Instapaper account can create their own landing page on mvse to show and archive their highlights. I’d be curious to know how many others would have an interest in this kind of thing.

In the meantime, it’s back to work on my regular projects, including NotedUp: a social platform for reading and annotating case law.

--

--