What jollof rice taught me

Nwadike Maraizu
2 min readMay 12, 2020

--

Guess this hit me while I was transferring the “not so jollof-rice” I made from the pot to the storage container to refrigerate.

I initially interpreted the word-picture to mean we should be patient and remain humble as life circumstances change. The fact that we may find ourselves at the bottom today doesn’t mean we would remain there.

Thinking further, I dug for more interpretation of this event, and the following hit me. I’d interpret to life in general and then to Content Marketing and Creation.

Expanding on my initial interpretation, the fact that life situations change means you should never write off anyone. Never overlook anyone.

Applying this to Content creation and marketing, it is safe to say that the circumstances of your audiences change. A not so receptive prospect today, may because of circumstance, change to be more receptive to your content tomorrow. Could be a new job, new travel plans, whatever. Never overlook any audience.

This, therefore, begs the need for continuous marketing efforts. Studying the demographic and life patterns of your audience and always being on hand to satisfy needs with adaptive content.

Keep pushing your brand, service or content and you are bound to rise from the bottom of the pot to the top of the cooler. As I always say, consistency yields results.

Finally, sometimes, you just need the right environment and situation to bring out the best in you. The rice needed to move to the cooler to move to the top.

You can’t judge a monkey’s skill and talent if you dump it in the ocean, the same way you would not drop a fish in the middle of the jungle for it to show what it’s made of.

Find your enabling environment, where you can perform best, the factors that would aid your productivity, and endeavour to position yourself in these environments to get the best out of you.

Anyways, I had to move the not so jollof rice back to the pot to warm. PHCN hasn’t restored power in days and this rice must not go bad. Talk about an enabling environment.

I would love to hear how you interpret this. Let’s discuss below.

--

--