Nyah K. Abdala
3 min readSep 25, 2017

Yes. That big picture that you have for your life is important. I won’t disagree. However, I think often times we overwhelm ourselves with the big picture, taking in and focusing on all the steps to get there, instead of focusing on the next step.

I know from experience, that when I pay too much attention to all that needs to be done, I usually never take a step at all. One of my biggest fears as a Creative, is investing time into the big idea and not knowing if i’ll even want to do it continuously, after it has been accomplished.

But nothing ever gets done that way right? Everything is susceptible to change… at some point. This is neither good nor bad, it’s just life. Everything evolves, and that includes our interests. I have found that in the doing, we’ll reveal those answers for ourselves because we are continually making strides towards the goal, which requires your time investment and your attention. If at some point you strongly feel that route is no longer for you, then you can reflect and make that decision for yourself. Let me make a point to say, however, that growing pains mustn’t be confused with downright just losing interest or strongly disliking what you’re doing. There will be discomfort on any road to becoming.

What has helped me and continues to help me is focusing on the next step daily. Asking myself, what is the next right move to make? From this place in my process, what must I do next? Is it getting ideas down on paper and working with my thoughts and feelings to refine those ideas? Is it calling someone and asking for their assistance on a specific obstacle? Is it… meditating and being quiet with myself to see what is wanting to come to the surface?

I strongly believe that if we shifted our focus to the smaller tasks at hand, while taking action, they almost always lead to those big accomplishments.

Plus, it’s far less overwhelming.

Where I do see the big picture being massively useful, is in times of reflection with self; reminding yourself of the why.

Also remembering that the bigger picture can take on any lifetime that you want it to. You can write out your three, six, and yearly goals. This process helps me dramatically when deciding on what the next step is to take. The next right move.

For instance, one of my three goals for the next 3 months is having my first short film completed and published. When I reflect on this goal, I think about where I am currently in that process. From this place, I am not longer thinking about EVERYTHING that needs to get done, but instead just that next move.

With that said, I challenge you to write out your own top 3 goals for the next 3 months and scale them however you see best fit. For each, focus on what the first or next move is to make. Do this at the six month mark also and the same for your yearly goals.

I want us all, despite any of our personal challenges, to continue investing in ourselves. If we don’t do it, we can’t expect anyone else to.

First show up for yourself, 100% and the world will see the dedication that you have to yourself and the vision you have for your life.

If there’s even one person out there living the life of their dreams, that certainly means that you can too. A blissful life is not exclusive and available to only a small selection of people. If you get serious about your life, and work actively towards where you want to go, all that you envision for yourself can also be your reality.

Believe in yourself, be patient with yourself and enjoy the process.

Nyah K. Abdala

Design Consultant • Empowerment Coach + Writer | Artist