When they go low, we go high

Nicole Zhu
2 min readNov 9, 2016

--

I woke up today and cried. I texted my friends and family. I ate a bagel. Yesterday my mom wore a blue blazer and my whole family voted in person for the first time for who we hoped would be our first female president. Today, we elected not just a despicable candidate, but a despicable, bigoted human being with ZERO political experience into our nation’s highest office.

I’m at a loss. I feel numb. I’m tired and scared for what this means for my own body, for friends and family, for women, POC, LGBTQ, Muslims, immigrants, and people with disabilities in this country. Today is the start of an uncertain, terrifying, sad, anxious, and fearful four years.

But as Michelle Obama has reiterated so often on the campaign trail, “when they go low, we go high.” So today I donated to Planned Parenthood in honor of Hillary Clinton. If you can, please do the same. Otherwise, consider donating to other organizations that my friend Miranda and other contributors have started compiling in this Google Doc. We need to go high now more than ever.

--

--