Nzinga Alexis Mbande
2 min readJul 4, 2017

--

Adrienne, thank you so much for taking the time to write a thoughtful response. It means a lot to me.

First, I want to say that I agree that it’s probably inaccurate that Jews own most of the property in the U.S. I didn’t fact check that because I’m not focused on proving or disproving that statement. My point is if it’s true, it’s because Jewish people utilized collectivist principles, which is admirable and effective. Further, I am convinced that collectivism (versus rugged individualism) will increase wealth and political power in Africana communities as it has in U.S. immigrant communities.

I am not comfortable with the good/bad or good/evil binary because I am convinced that it’s rooted in Abrahamic religious morality that often results in interpersonal violence and war. I will sometimes joke or play with those terms but in my heart, I find them dangerous and not useful.

What I find useful is determining whether an idea, person, or thing is helpful or beneficial. I think being an individual, that is being a distinct person with a unique personality, interesting ideas, and creative style is beneficial and makes the world a better place. Being an individual is different than an individualist culture.

And then, I have no problem with respectability as it pertains to carrying oneself with dignity and integrity and being as kind as possible. But respectability as often preached by older Black Americans to younger or upper class Black Americans to poor Black Americans involves critiquing (policing) superficial things like sagging pants, acrylic nails, hairstyles and hoodies as if changing our clothes will stop racial violence. If that were true, none of our nattily dressed, well-groomed ancestors with their ironed pants and shirts and spit-shined shoes would ever have been lynched.

My point is the latter notion of respectability tied to sartorial choices is called respectability politics, and that kind of respectability will never save us because ultimately we are being killed, being denied housing, being denied employment, etc. because of our Blackness.

--

--

Nzinga Alexis Mbande

Co-founder at Africana Ecovillage. Artist. Writer. Healer. Trans-inclusive Womanist. Queer AF. #AllBlackLivesMatter #LetsGetFree