The Love Restaurant, Philadelphia PA

Olivia Bennett
3 min readJul 7, 2021

--

I recently visited The Love restaurant in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Located on 18th street right near Rittenhouse Square, it is a perfect location for a nice dinner after a walk through the city.

Starter

I began my meal with the Our Labor of Love starter (pictured below). An artisan cheese board accompanied with various small sides including jams, fresh fruit and nuts. Without a doubt, this starter was my favorite part of my dinner. However, as the night went on, everything was up for the running of that title.

Entree

My entree was the Honey Brined Pork Chop. It was a sweet yet savory mix of peach and ginger flavor. Every bit was full of flavor yet the meal still felt light, which made it all the more enjoyable.

Dessert

For dessert, I enjoyed the Bee Sweet Sundae (pictured below). Compared to the other flavors presented throughout the night, the honeycomb chamomile ice cream and toffee offered a much more dull flavor. It was sweet and smooth. The light taste was perfect for ending the night.

Drinks

Various options were available for alcoholic options including cocktails, by the glass and by the bottle. Additionally, water was served with all meals. During my visit, I had two “mocktails”. The first one was the Straight Arrow which is served with no alcohol to begin with. Secondly I had a virgin Strawberry-Ginger Mule (pictured below). This drink is originally served with local vodka. It was full of flavor, but the ginger very much overruled the strawberry flavor.

Ratings

  • Starter, 10/10. Very filling and has various taste options which makes it a perfect option for sharing amongst mutiple people.
  • Entree, 8/10. Very enjoyable. Unique taste, and combination I’ve never had from another restaurant. The pork chop was perfectly cooked to my liking.
  • Dessert, 7/10. A little bit bland compared to the flavors presented in the other meals. However, the light taste was a perfect way to end the night.
  • Drinks, 7/10. Various options are offered for alcoholic beverages. However, was lacking in the availability of non-alcoholic beverages.

Overall, The Love in Philadelphia is a great place to visit if you’re looking for somewhere with a delicate cuisine and flavorful options. It is on the pricer side, however the money is well worth it for the untouchable food and service.

--

--

Olivia Bennett

Hi all! I am currently a sophmore nursing student in Philadelphia, PA. Following my passion for writing through sharing my thoughts and opinions on Medium.