52 Album Project: Kickoff

Lucas O’Bryan
3 min readJan 3, 2020

--

50 of the albums I’ll be listening to in 2020. Two will be chosen from albums released in 2020.

Hi everyone! Thanks for checking out this personal project of mine for 2020. This year I will be listening to one album each week; starting on Monday and ending on Sunday. Each album will get at least two full listens: one from start to end with no interruptions and another listen through with a focus on understanding and appreciating the lyrical content. I will be writing these short blog entries as a way to document my thoughts and reflection on each album.

This project was inspired by Dissect, a fantastic podcast that breaks down a single album, gives it context, and explores the meaning behind the songs. I recently listened to Season Two on a road trip and it gave me a whole new appreciation for the album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and greater empathy for Kanye West as the complex, controversial, and gifted artist that he is. I highly recommend checking out this podcast, and I’m excited to listen two the other seasons after giving their focus albums the proper listening myself this year.

A couple of stipulations as I start on this journey. First, I am not a musician or a music critic at all, nor am I claiming to be one. I just really love music and wanted to document my appreciation of these albums. I am not a particularly spiritual individual in my personal life. Instead of finding philosophical guidance in religion or spirituality, I’ve often found myself guided and inspired by the creativity of my favorite artists. Secondly, this project is intended as a personal documentation. If you enjoy reading about my thoughts then that’s awesome! But I really want this to be something for myself, a place where I can take the time to intentionally appreciate some fantastic art and document my own reflections.

With all that being said here is the list of the albums I’ll be diving into this year, in no particular order. 50 of the albums have been selected already, 2 will be chosen from albums released in 2020 (J. Cole’s The Fall Off is all but guaranteed to be one of these). Some are personal favorites of mine, some I’ve listened to before but want to explore more deeply, and some I have yet to listen to. Some technically aren’t even albums but rather live performances, mixtapes, or collections. It took quite a long time to narrow this down to 50 for this year, maybe a sign that I’ll need to do this again in 2021. I’m super excited about the variety and am looking forward to listening to all these great works!

-Lucas

  1. Me Against the World 2Pac
  2. Ready to Die The Notorious B.I.G
  3. Straight Outta Compton N.W.A.
  4. Revenge of the Dreamers III Various Artists
  5. The Blueprint JAY-Z
  6. Lemonade Beyoncé
  7. The Human Condition Jon Bellion
  8. Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) Wu-Tang Clan
  9. Doggystyle Snoop Dogg
  10. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Kanye West
  11. Tha Carter III Lil Wayne
  12. A Real Good Kid Mike Posner
  13. Illmatic Nas
  14. Queen Nicki Minaj
  15. Room 25 Noname
  16. Chasing Summer SiR
  17. Saturation III Brockhampton
  18. Unforgettable Nat King Cole
  19. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill Lauryn Hill
  20. blackie: a story by roy kinsey Roy Kinsey
  21. The Chronic Dr. Dre
  22. Malibu Anderson .Paak
  23. Black Panther: The Album Various Artists
  24. Neotheater AJR
  25. DAMN. Kendrick Lamar
  26. To Pimp a Butterfly Kendrick Lamar
  27. Blonde Frank Ocean
  28. Channel Orange Frank Ocean
  29. Flower Boy Tyler, the Creator
  30. The Marshall Mathers LP Eminem
  31. Acid Rap Chance the Rapper
  32. Fotografia de um Instante Vol. 1 & 2 Haikaiss
  33. In the Wee Small Hours Frank Sinatra
  34. Innocent Age Dan Fogelberg
  35. Vessel twenty one pilots
  36. Things Fall Apart The Roots
  37. Gang Signs & Prayer Stormzy
  38. One More Light Live Linkin Park
  39. 4 Your Eyez Only J.Cole
  40. Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’ Kid Cudi
  41. Wins and Losses Meek Mill
  42. Energía J Balvin
  43. Swimming Mac Miller
  44. Drogas Wave Lupe Fiasco
  45. Be Common
  46. Summertime ’06 Vince Staples
  47. Blckswn Smino
  48. Care for Me Saba
  49. Live at the Apollo James Brown
  50. Montevello Sam Hunt

--

--

Lucas O’Bryan

Currently working on a personal side project where I take one week to appreciate an album.