I’m Fat, F**k You if You Don’t Like It, Part Two

Ani King
5 min readSep 25, 2018

--

This is the part where I tell you I am absolutely, totally not a medical or fitness professional. The information below assumes you are already medically capable of working out or being in a facility where folks work out. *If you want to start a new workout program, doctors suggest talking to them first. (If you can’t because your doctor is a fat-shaming piece of shit, and you have the means/insurance, try to find another doctor. That’s not always possible, so just keep in mind that you matter, it’s okay that you’re fat, and do what works best for you.)*

Let’s pick up from part one, where our anti-heroine (that’s me, keep up) returns to the gym, freed from the burden of thin-desire, ready to get swole. (Yes, I too threw up in my mouth a bit there.)

Take Your Own Towel

Never forget your towel!

If you shower at home, just skip this. In the interest of convenience, I shower at my gym every morning, unless I’m lifting on a day that I don’t have to work. Plus, I go early enough that I don’t have to fight anyone for a stall with a curtain. Thing is, if you do go to a gym that offers towels, they’re almost certainly going to be small. Basically, large washcloths. To be blunt, they ain’t coverin’ shit.

Is there anything more self-esteem damaging that having to use two fucking towels to cover your body? Probably, yeah, but as much as I want to be the older women at my gym who do not give a single fuck, and just walk around with everything thing hanging out, I’m not there yet. So here’s what you’re gonna do: get you a plus sized towel. (I mean, yes, CHAD, they are called bath sheets, but we do what we want.)

Widen Your Stance

The things that hinder me most when it comes to lifting form are comically short arms, big boobs, and my belly.

Accurate rendering, by Jayne King

This has been especially problematic with certain squat variations and the deadlift. Squats and dead lifts have a well earned place in the Big Three, and if you are able, I do think that in combination with the bench press, they do a ton for building overall body strength and stability. But you have to be able to do them correctly, not only to reap the benefits, but also avoid injury. Great news, there’s an easy adjustment: widen your stance.

With your feet a placed further apart you not only make room for your trunk to move freely, you can also make sure that you get low enough when you squat, or maintain posture through a deadlift. I’m a big fan of the Sumo squat, Sumo deadlift, and deadlift variations that allow you to start with the bar closer to your knees or hips. You can read more on squat variations here, and deadlifts here, as Nia Shanks does a terrific job going through proper positioning and variation choices.

Stand Up!

Standing variations or moves are incredible for building core stability and overall body strength, plus you look like a badass when you emit a deafening roar at the end of every set. Try it. All the dudes at the gym are doing it, why not you?

Sarah. Robles. #goals

Warm it Up (Kris)…

Warming up literally means make sure you don’t drop into an exercise cold. Warm muscles are more elastic, warm joints — more forgiving, and that means you’re less likely to injure yourself, and your body can accommodate more strain or stress. Like picking up a lot of heavy shit up over and over. If you struggle with range of motion, and it’s not due to injury, getting in the habit could help. Typical recommendations ask that you devote five to ten minutes to warming up. If I’m feeling particularly stiff, cold, or lethargic, I start with a brisk five minute walk before going into dynamic stretches and jumping jacks.

…Walk it Off, Stretch it Out

I like to walk for thirty minutes after I lift because it helps me loosen back up before stretching, and it means I get some cardio time. While I am not a runner (probably not even if a bear chases me), I do know that consistently moving my ass around a track at a slightly higher than normal speed is good for my heart and blood pressure, blah, blah, blah, you’ve had this talk before.

While I’m not focused on watching the numbers on my scale change, you might be. No judgement. My only hope is that if you’re working to lose weight that it’s because you believe it to be the right thing for you, and that you do so in a sane way that doesn’t make you feel shitty about yourself. I bring it up because taking a walk (or run, or treadmill, or stationary bike) after exercising can help you take advantage of your higher heart rate, and burn more calories.

Finally, stretch. Seriously. Don’t skip this part. Warming up sets the stage for the work to come, and cooling down means you get to reap the benefits and not have to crawl up the goddamn stairs because your body is RAGE QUITTING you for what you’ve done. Plus, if you’re stretching regularly you’ll see better range of motion and increased flexibility. Which means some of the exercises you do will get easier, and you’ll move on to things that seemed out of reach. Feels good, yeah?

Thanks for sticking with me. While this isn’t a comprehensive list of all the things you can do to make your gym experience more positive, I hope it helps. Being fat doesn’t mean you aren’t or can’t be healthy without exhausting diets or injurious workouts. You don’t deserve to be belittled by the health care industry, or anyone. Nor do you deserve to be patronized for your efforts. Because YOU are fucking awesome.

--

--