E3 2016 Day 1 Recap

Jose
3 min readJun 13, 2016

--

Battlefield 1, Titanfall 2, and more…

E3 started out very well with a solid presentation from EA.

EA, the company everyone loves to hate is finally making a comeback. After Battlefield 4’s very bad release back in 2013, there was clearly no hope for EA to get consumers back to “like” them again, but I think they cracked the code with Battlefield 1. I feel like they actually listened to the players this time when it came to Battlefield 1 and the other IP’s that we will be talking about ahead. I am a very big Call of Duty fan, but Battlefield 1 just seems so awesome. From the graphics to the massive multiplayer of 32 v 32 with tanks, planes, and now horses! Just look at the trailer.

Amazing, right? I think this could be the start of something new not just for Battlefield, but for FPS games in general.

Something that I really liked from EA was EA Originals. EA Originals, in my perspective, feels like what start-up incubator programs do to help smaller developers. EA is helping small development companies bring new and innovate games to the public eye without small developers having to use a lot of money in funding, marketing, and publishing. The first EA Original is a really nice game called “Fe” from a small development studio called “Zoink!”

It feels very artsy and really cool. I am not a big indie fan, but this one really feels like last year’s Unravel from Coldwell Studios. A small yet powerful main character looking for something special in a forest. I really like how it looks and how it combines video games and music in one single piece of art.

Something really cool that blew me was Titanfall 2. I never got to play the original because it is an X-Box One exclusive, but I always was intrigued by the product. Now, Titanfall (2) is coming to PS4. At first I was skeptical with Titanfall coming to PlayStation because of the multiplayer only Titanfall (1), but guess what? Titanfall 2 has single-player!

I feel like Titanfall 2 was made for E-Sports, but don’t even mention the awesome grapple-hook! Grapple-hooks are awesome! Instant 9/10 just because.

Now to one of the most anticipated games from EA, Mass Effect Andromeda!

Not much was talked about Andromeda, but it is shaping to look like an awesome space adventure RPG. I don’t have mush to say except that I am very patiently waiting for it.

EA Sports is shaping to look very, very well. Their isn’t a lot that EA can to make make these games any better except graphics and new players, but I really liked Fifa’s new “The Journey” mode. It feels similar to NBA 2016’s “My Career” mode but better. It feels organic versus Spike Lee’s sorta forced and linear “Livin’ Da Dream.”

Jade Raymond was very coy to what is to come from the future of EA’s license for the new games coming soon. I really liked the VR aspect they are working on and I really hope the new Battlefront has single player. Here is the rest of the EA conference.

This is all I have for you right now. Later I will be posting my thoughts from Bethesda’s conference.

Follow me on Twitter as @AlemanAcevedo

--

--

Jose

I enjoy talking about marketing online. If you like reading about marketing online, this may interest you. Follow on Twitter for randommarketing thoughts.