Acknowledge your emotions

Odinakachukwu Ndukwe
2 min readJan 14, 2020

--

I think it’s important we try to feel every emotion that comes to us rather than push it aside. We should address every issue that comes to mind! The truth is, a time will come when there’ll be an outburst and it won’t be pleasant. Also, you’d be hurting yourself subtly or not if you don’t process your feelings. Basically, it’s not healthy so the earlier the better.

Of late, I've been so self aware and it's not a pleasant thing, I have to be honest and it's hard. I'm only grateful that I'm not alone because God has been helping me. Also, going deep and addressing certain unhealthy behaviors I do has somehow given me perspective and I can see changes, though little.

I want to encourage you. Face what it is you've refused to deal with, be aware, address every single emotions. Are you anxious for no reason? Well maybe there's a reason and if you think deep, you'd see. Then ask yourself, why does this make me feel anxious?

You scroll on Instagram and see a picture and all of a sudden, you feel angry or jealous (don’t be ashamed, it’s even between you and God). Ask, why am I angry? Why am I jealous? Why do I feel this way?

Acknowledging the emotion is the first step. Addressing it is next. Remember, your feelings are valid. Instead of ignoring them, face them.

Also, don’t underestimate the power of prayer at all time and God’s ever helping hand. You’re not alone

❤️

--

--

Odinakachukwu Ndukwe

Documenting my growth... Your words have life, use it wisely