Given mission is accomplished mission!

Fernando Nunes
5 min readAug 17, 2022
Por StockSnap de Pixabay

You are fulfilled when you manage to overcome your ghosts and understand the meaning of the expression “mission given is mission accomplished”.

Porto Alegre, August 15, by Fernando Nunes — Mission given is mission accomplished is an expression that became known in the film played by Wagner Moura, Tropa de Elite. I even believe that you must have seen and remembered some plots of the film.

And this expression can have several interpretations, in totally antagonistic ways. In other words, interpret and use it as self-improvement. At the end of last week I was entrusted with one of these assignments, so to speak. That is, even with fear and insecurity, a mission given is a mission accomplished.

So, read more: Livros da Minha Vida #1

What do you mean, mission given is mission accomplished?

For starters, this has a lot to do with how to do it differently from what has always been done. That is, to doubt my own ability to perform. In other words, always finding an excuse not to do. However, I have been changing this modus operandi for some time now, and it is also linked to the last published text. Today, the hype — to use a buzzword — goes something like this: “if you have to die, let it be standing up and shooting”.

Okay, not to be so radical then, you can use “if you’re scared, go scared”. And that’s how I got the challenge the past week , when I was asked to write two e-books with 6500 words each. Also, to create content about a subject that I like, which is cars. In the same way, besides cars, it was not just any car, but an icon of the post-war modern industry, which helped to bring the manufacturer in question out of bankruptcy. And, even today continues to be successful with the new generation of the vehicle and for those passionate about the brand.

So, also check out: A Espera de Um Milagre

My selfie in a happy momen — Photo by Fernando Nunes

Is it afraid you have? Go scared!

Of course I was afraid, I’m human. In January of this year I decided that it was time to change again and that I would like to spend the rest of my life writing, including as a way to earn it and keep it. That is, from today until the rest of my life and by my calculations, there are still 17,651 days to go. This corroborates the title of this text, that is, doing what must be done.

Also, when I decided to turn the tables once more until last week, it had only been 7 months and two weeks. So, no more than 226 days to sign one of the best contracts so far, and it certainly won’t be the last. However, despite having old Fernando locked up in the basement, sometimes he manifests himself and screams in my face. And at the top of your lungs for everyone to hear, stuff like, you’re not going to make it, you’ve never written such a long text in such a short time.

It was that moment to put the knife in your teeth, or the keyboard on the table and go upstairs. But fear can paralyze you in different ways, including thoughts of thanking you and not accepting the contract. I didn’t take this attitude because I was encouraged and reminded that yes, I can. And once again the new Fernando is proving to the old me that yes, I am capable and that I can do it.

Is there a way to double the target?

Not only doubling the goal, but delivering another e-book with 6500 words, only now, with the time a little shorter. If you were already without nails because of the first one that hadn’t even started writing yet, imagine now what it would look like. Okay, nailless I’ve been since I was six years old, it doesn’t count, I confess.

If we’re in hell, let’s hug the devil. Even more, those opportunities and the saddled horse do not pass twice in the same place. Cliche, I know! But believe me, they bring us many truths.

With the soul washed

Last Thursday, I talked to my psychologist (Yes, I’m back!), and I commented that it had been a long time since I felt so satisfied and fulfilled. In other words, it was seven days where the problems got so small, where for the first time I didn’t look at the old me.

Yes, I am the guy who had needs to took a giant shake out of life and had no choice but to reinvent himself. Previously, I saw difficulties in everything, but today, little by little, with the help of some people, I have managed to see life with more color and opportunities.

But don’t think that life has turned into a rainbow, because it didn’t. There are moments when there are setbacks, where once again I end up on the floor. In addition, the thoughts of yesteryear come back out of the basement wanting to take over with the force of a hurricane.

Finally, mission accomplished

In addition to feeling accomplished, for being able to deliver, I also felt valued. Yes, appreciated, because this time they came to me because they had seen my work. Recognized, even without knowing if I would deliver what was asked of me, I was offered another contract, another challenge.

Remember, go really scared, with sweaty palms and deadlines slipping through your fingers. I delivered above what was requested, exactly 13.92% above to be precise. I also received a “we really like your work”, which for me was gratifying and a personal overcoming.

It was a week that I arrived at the session with the psychologist and said that I had nothing to complain about, even with the problems bursting, I was light and I could say, with pride in myself, that the mission given is mission accomplished. Ultimately, this just confirms that if I did it, you can too. Don’t let your dreams end before you start living them. We were born to fly.

Also read: Não seja enterrado pela vida

If you made it this far and this text made some sense to you, or maybe it makes sense to a friend or family member, share it. Share on your social networks and whatsapp groups.

You can help me by buying me a coffee with Ko-Fi. Your donation will be very important for me to continue producing.

Your opinion is very welcome, feel free to interact. I would love to know what you think.

--

--

Fernando Nunes

I turn words into stories, into moments and emotions. Ask me how: odnanrefserep@gmail.com. It will be a pleasure to speak with you!