I built a marketing and sales strategy for Loom: Week 3

Jack Oestreich
4 min readApr 21, 2020

--

I have been able to craft strategies such as social media marketing and cold-call emails that emulate what I would be doing on the real job, to help promote a company that is relevant to the current circumstances.

Recap:

I am working on a project that focuses on marketing and sales while pitching a tool to people. Here are the goals

  • Cold email customers
  • Warm email people that would use the product
  • Learn HubSpot and see if I can push anyone through for a call
  • Continue to market on social media

Video

Warm email

I focused a significant amount of time creating cold emails for people that I already knew. I got a better turnout than I expected. Out of the five people that I contacted, I was able to get three people to try the product out.

It was outstanding to get the connections that I already knew were interested in using the product because then I know they would find value in it. They would use it for training purposes and small video messaging for their team while they are all remote. A couple of them said that they would use it in the future even when we are all out of quarantine, so it was successful.

Cold email.

My next option was to try and use a cold email.

First, I had to learn how to write a good cold email. I learned a few things

  • Always be personal
  • Tie marketing to personal context
  • Make it as conversational as possible

I started my search in a couple of places. I knew my target audience was going to be teachers, so I went to k12 data and requested some sample sheets of teachers so I could start to cold email them.

I also had to some prospecting research and see if they would like this project, and see if there was anything that I could add to the email, that would make it as conversational as possible

I already sent out a couple of emails to some possible prospects, but I plan on sending out a lot more in the next week

. The basic idea is to “work” for the company without working for the company. I would like to get a return of five people that would like to use it. All in all, it will give me some awesome beginner experience of how to set up cold emails and engage with customers.

Pitching product social media

I have found that when you engage with people over social media and conversate with them, people are much open to click the link. Like I said last week, my goal was not to put as much emphasis on this, but it went well. With engaging people, I found that I had a lot more people who would click the link on twitter and get more people interested.

Accomplishments

  • Successfully had people interested in the product and making more people aware of it.
  • Made and sent cold emails trying to engage people in using the product
  • Learned the value of making a great cold email and how to attract the right type of customers
  • Learned how to target the right audience and make some notice of how I can answer their needs

Plan for next week

I am going to be running a CRM, and getting prospects to be interested in the product. That said, I will be making up to at least thirty emails a day, getting people to be using the product and helping them in the process. What I would really like to do is have Loom come down on me and tell me to stop, that way, I am getting noticed.

Mistakes Learned

I learned the hard way, that not everyone will find this product the best. I had two people say that they would use it, but in reality, it was probably just a brush off. This is where follow up comes in handy, and I will take notes of that.

Also, whenever I am promoting a product, I learned to be as transparent as possible, that way people will be more willing to help and try the product out.

--

--

Jack Oestreich

2020 February Praxis Participant, learning to create opportunities every day