The First 90

Mr. Robert
4 min readSep 23, 2017

--

A cool day in Washington, D.C.

The decision hit me to move from my hometown of Detroit, MI— AGAIN — in March of 2017. I lost my job, because I quit LOL, and decided that it was time to move on. I left my job abruptly as my then boss, LARRY BONGIOVANNI *waves*, decided it was a good idea to disrespect me… at work…publicly. I submitted my letter of resignation IMMEDIATELY, deleted all my files on the computer, left my keys and access codes, and made my way to Target for a therapeutic day trip.

I should mention that I love Target. The look, feel, colors, smell, and prices are euphoric for me. I love Target so much that I might marry it. *nods in approval*

After a stress-free day of shopping and doing something I wanted to do I set forth a plan for where I should consider going. In my time off, and no I didn’t file unemployment as I knew they’d fight it like they did for former employees which in my role with the company I was responsible for managing, I went into full research mode. I wanted to see, based on the numbers, which cities were doing well for its inhabitants and for itself. The top 5 cities in the US, based on my research, were: Boston, MA, San Francisco, CA, Dallas, TX, Washington, D.C., and Austin, TX. Honorable mention to Miami, FL because I loved my recent trips there. Note that both Dallas and Miami were hit by hurricanes. So thank God I didn’t choose either of those. Boston isn’t friendly to people of color and San Fran is nice but too close to real life FIRE. So D.C. seemed a good spot.

Washington, D.C. in comparison to Detroit, MI rated pretty closely on certain issues. I wanted to move someplace that was like Detroit but, was warmer, more developed and further along in the gentrification phase most cities were experiencing. I agreed that D.C. met those standards and set about minimizing and organizing my belongings (as a minimalist) in preparation for the move. I made my piles: KEEP, SELL, and TRASH. I sorted EVERYTHING I won into those piles and began the work of applying for jobs, storing the kept items, and (with the help of eBay) selling off items I had no use for anymore. I wasn’t successful in my sales but I did pretty good. I had some cash to make moves with now.

I prayed over the location choice and the plan as it was at that moment. A few days later, I got a notification that I could get a plane ticket to Washington, D.C. FOR $40. Yea, you read that right. $40. I bought that ticket. With the remaining money from the sale I paid on bills so I’d have some time to get situated once in D.C. My last days in Detroit were full and active, but I was truly ready to go. I packed my suitcase, mailed a few boxes of things so I wouldn’t have to give the airlines any more money besides that $40, and made sure people knew I was moving. I didn’t need a party, I just wanted to go and start fresh.

I barely slept the night before I left. My plane left early on June 13th and I arrived in D.C. shortly before 10 am. On my list of things to do were the following: go to the Post Office to pick up my boxes, stop by a friend’s place to drop off my belongings, visit a museum — any museum (there are soooo many), find a library to become my second home, and go to the gym to sign my transfer paperwork. When I tell you nothing went as planned, I mean that. I won’t go into details but let’s just say Washington, D.C. moves at it’s own pace from what I have witnessed firsthand. Chocolate City, a.k.a. Washington, D.C., is truly trash but I’m learning to find something positive in each day…I’m really trying.

From June to August it’s been a simple, succinct drag. A few things I was hoping to find and become more involved with were a community choir, some organization needing volunteers (didn’t matter the kind of organization), and of course a Target. Do you know how long it took? Very long. I did find the Target while volunteering for Team Rayceen through the Human Rights Campaign and at the August Ask Rayceen Show, I subsequently met the founder of a community choir needing new voices. So let’s just say it all came together after some time.

Well here it is, 10 days past the 90 day mark of being in this city. As I reflect on day one and the changes I’ve experienced and will experience over these next 90 days, I can say I’m in a better position than I was when I arrived. However, there are some things that have shown no progress in my life. I left for something different and wound up finding much of the same just with new faces and weird accents. I’m grateful for every move I’ve endured thus far and know this isn’t my last one by any means. I’ve learned more about myself during this time and feel I’ve grown a little.

I realize not everyone is able to pick up and go like I did, but I do hope that if you aren’t happy (which I wasn’t) that you find a way to get happy or at least find something to get lost in while you find your happiness.*wink*

--

--

Mr. Robert

I’m a regular guy who has made an oath to living a non-conforming, creative life.