Todah is on the hunt; help, share, or hire him

Todah Opeyemi
3 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Dear Mentors, Colleagues, and Friends,

I hope this message finds you in good spirits. I am writing to let you know that I’m currently looking to resume a new role next month. I am particularly looking for a role that matches my skills.

I resigned last December from my position as a documentary lead and producer due to ethical issues and I no longer felt at home at my previous organization. Since the new year began, my focus has been on working on the major post-production aspects of my forthcoming podcast, The Outsiders, with support from Alibi Investigations. And after much thought and consideration, I have decided to pursue new opportunities in journalism, and I am open to resuming a full-time offer from the 3rd week in April.

As you all know, journalism (being a witness) is a passion of mine, and I am excited about the prospect of exploring new avenues within this field. I’m not only reaching out to you to ‘help me find a job,’ but I am also asking for your support and guidance as I embark on this new journey to find something befitting and rewarding.

If you are aware of any openings or opportunities that might be a good fit for me, I would be grateful if you could let me know. I am particularly interested in roles that allow me to utilize my skills in producing (audio-visual), researching, and writing about stories that matter to people. I would appreciate a role that covers stories in Nigeria, but also one that covers African stories in general.

I would also appreciate any advice or insight you may have regarding job searching in this industry, especially in light of my recent experiences as a documentary producer and also as an audience engagement editor. One thing to note is that I am obsessed with narrative podcasts, and I have experience working on radio and as a content executive for a podcast network to back this up. At the moment, I am committed to and particular about finding a job that values journalism ethics, inclusivity, and a positive work culture that’s secure for chronically ill employees.

Thank you for your continued encouragement and support throughout my career. I am also endlessly grateful for the opportunities afforded to me by this line of work. I treasure every story I’ve been able to tell and be a part of, and I value the growth and knowledge I’ve gained from working in various (yet few) newsrooms.

I look forward to staying in touch with you as I pursue this new chapter. Please email me as well via telltodah@gmail.com. I will be pleased to hear from you, even if it’s about any freelance opportunities or commissions. I am also open to a contract role.

CV is available upon request.

Warm regards,

Todah Opeyemi

Multimedia Journalist

You can also stay in touch @officialtodah on all social media platforms.

LinkedIn – Todah Opeyemi

--

--

Todah Opeyemi

Multimedia storyteller exploring themes of identity, love, resilience, and hope.