Flipping to a new page

Ofofonono Umoren
2 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Pheeewww!

January started off on a really busy note, so easy to have missed a mark off my new year’s resolution to write an article monthly. But here I am, triumphing over chaos and excited to share my thoughts from the start of the year.

I’m writing this with the thought that it could land in the face of a complete stranger, so maybe the most appropriate way to begin would be to introduce myself and that in itself isn’t one of the easiest tasks around. Lol

So yeah, I’m a web developer with three years of experience in the IT services industry where I mostly craft solutions for businesses on the web with the MERN stack. I have a knack for thinking, working and living in systems and as a hobby, I like to read non-fiction, biographies and support Chelsea FC. That’s probably all because it’s an article not some piece of hagiography.

This piece will be more of setting the ground rules of engagement than anything serious. I’d share what to expect to read from me every month, why I’m committing to this new endeavor and other bits of information I’d be putting in your face for as long as I keep on this.

Just to be clear, its okay to have expected that I have a clear purpose for such an endeavor; of course that what’s blogging suggests — a clear structure for consistent articulation of thoughts around a theme or themes.

Well, whilst that is definitely what this will evolve into, it’s no where close. I was inspired to do this by beliefs I’ve held for the longest time — that one should write as much as he reads and that clarity comes with time, So, bear with me through the iterations as I find the perfect fit.

Whilst I intend to write a lot on theoretical concepts of web development, software engineering technologies and trends in the IT services industry, I would often veer off to talk about early years career development and how to build, scale and optimize work and life patterns and systems.

I intend to employ the highest levels of discipline to sustain this pact, however to insure against inconsistency, I am committing to publishing this promising blog every last week of the month. It’d be so great to always get feedback from you (even if it’s a simple “hi, mate” in the comments). It’d be extra motivating to know that you read my blog, so please let me know.

To end, I’d just say that this is a personal experiment for me. I’m pushing the limits of what I know I can achieve and if that strikes you as a motivation to start something huge, I’m rooting for you.

Just before I sign off, I’d share with you some profound and insightful resources that I consumed this month.

What I read/watched in January:

That’s it for now. See you in a few weeks!

--

--

Ofofonono Umoren

Politics & History | Cryptocurrency | Technology & Engineering