FPS Game Project

Oguzkaanarda
3 min readJun 4, 2022

--

A quick Demonstration

I am currently working on a Fps project. And this story will be like a self-devlog.

I’m at the very beginning of the project right now. And i am trying to build a strong base for the future. After the movement and weapon mechanics. I wanted to add a mechanic that impressed me a lot when I was little. The weapon attachment ui from Crysis. As you can see in the gif. Player can attach an attachment to the weapon by holding down the weapon preview button.

****************************************************************

After messing around with the pistol I wanted to add an assault rifle. Also
i was wondering if my code could handle other weapons. And suprisngly it didn’t. I spent 2–3 days to just adding an assault rifle and I succeeded. Now with this version of the project i can add any weapon with some little tweaks.

Furthermore i added some sound effects and if player chooses suppressor attachment, gun sound changes according to that.

For the future of this project now i am thinking about adding enemys to the game. But i haven’t decided to what would they look like. Or maybe i make some new weapon and attachment models with blender. Because theese assets are from the assets store.

******************************************************************

After some thought idecided it was early to make assets. And i found a new assault rifle. Let’s admit it the old one was pretty crappy. Then i added reloading and weapon switching system. Now player has limited ammo and can switch between weapons easily.

Right now weapon dissapears when reloading. And i need to make a reloading animaton soon.

*************************************************************

I wrote a procedural weapon recoil code. This way, I can change the amount of recoil according to the weapon.

*****************************************************************

I couldn’t add much stuff because of university finals.
But now guns have two shooting modes, automatic and semi-automatic

I rendered the gun using a separate camera. This way, it ensures that the weapon does not pass through the objects.

************************************************************

After a long break, I continue the project. I designed a small range and shotgun on Blender. And I had to tweak the firing code for the shoutgun a bit.

Here is the video of the final version of the project:https://drive.google.com/file/d/17Ou8u654-Eg7ccIqCZUcLlAfZ4b1Yn5L/view?usp=sharing

*************************************************************

I redesigned the arena because I didn’t like it. And I designed a simple interface for game modes.

--

--