Resisting the Craving

Ignoring the urge to demolish your entire week’s healthy eating habits

Oh Deer!
2 min readNov 1, 2016

I started my day off right with a relatively healthy smoothie. It was going so well.

Ingredients: almond milk, ice cubes, protein powder, peanut butter, banana, cinnamon

“Today is going to be a good day”, I thought. I mean, I had packed a salad for lunch! A salad!

Ingredients: iceberg lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, strawberries, cucumber, croutons, cranberries, pumpkin seeds, creamy cucumber salad dressing

It was a busy day at work. Time flew by, noon rolled around, and the salad left a satisfying feeling in my tummy. It was probably all the croutons. And cranberries. Two whole water bottles worth of water were also consumed. The body rehab process was in high swing. I headed out for a lunch time massage appointment. Nobody told me having somebody else work your muscles left you just as famished as I’d feel post-workout.

I left out a crucial detail. Today is Halloween.

4 KitKat bars, 2 Aeros, 1 little pack of m&ms, and 3 Lindor chocolate balls were consumed today. And that was with me being on high self-restraint alert. For some strange reason, I came back home still completely famished. Two slices of veggie pizza, and an entire bowl of granola were consumed tonight.

Granola Ingredients: Minimalist Baker Chunky Coconut Granola, protein powder, almond milk, cinnamon, peanut butter

There’s always tomorrow.

--

--