Randy Rucker
5 min readJan 13, 2020

Seventh Street Baptist Church

Ephraim Squier along with Edwin Davis explored, mapped and excavated many Southern Ohio Native American mounds. A map by H. G. Squier can be found showing the Portsmouth Mound Works. This was drawn by him in 1867.

It shows an embankment wall that ran from two horse shoe mounds of Mound Park (only one still exists) South all the way to the Ohio River. This had to be a wonderful site and many have said that if it existed today people would have come from far and wide to see it. It would be worth a lot in local tourism were it here today!

Long I have tried to visualize that line but do not take the time to try and figure it out. However it was on my mind a recent Sunday as I felt that line could not have run far from the Seventh Street Baptist Church!

And on a lovely day, nothing like one would expect in January…. we walked into the church. Beverly and I were joined by Christopher and Stephanie Neff.

I must say this is a very prayerful church. Much of the congregation was gathered at the alter and prayed together. The prayers seemed more personal and not specifically intended for the entire church to hear. There were probably twenty plus within this prayer group. It sounded like they just prayed as the need arose with the laying of hands extended on the heads of others.

But before I go forward let me say a beautiful photo scripture at the church front quoted Revelation 3:20. Then we better understood the church policy to keep the entrance doors locked. Only after knocking at the door are attendees brought in. Had we not watched other church members doing this we may have looked for other doors.

Two door openers came to let us in and I assumed they were part of a security team but I did not question much about this. I thought it was a great idea!

Remember Revelation 3:20 King James Version (KJV) as I mentioned. Verse 20: Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. A beautiful thought as our morning of worship began with the folks of the Seventh Street Baptist Church.

Shortly a lady in the church rose to speak of her upcoming mission trip to Costa Rica. She explained that many problems had stood in the way but she explained her joy in that the Lord had opened doors to solve each problem as it came along. She spoke of her faith and trust and explained that she is preparing spiritually and mentally for her upcoming June mission.

A very nice choir of about 20 sang beautiful old style hymns through the morning. A young man who was very helpful explained the choir had been formed as a recent addition to the church. Their talent exceeded their term of service. Several of their lovely songs included, “God Is So Good” and “Keep On The Firing Line.”

This same young man shared that he often reads my blogs from medium.com. Several others came up greeting us and speaking of our mission, having read our columns! I thought I had the young man’s name but afterward found I did not. The Lord knows his name and I again thank him!

Karen Lynd Chaffin who graduated before I, a friend of one brother came forward and talked with us. We met so many other wonderful people including a visiting Pastor from the Monterey Wesleyan Church in Monterey, Tennessee! Ted Stepp is now a friend on Facebook.

Being a small world that it is I learned that the lady Pastor, Lisa Crawford is also a Minford Ohio resident and Beverly is very familiar with her family.

Just before Lisa began her message a lady walked up the aisle to the church piano. It seemed to be unplanned. She gave a testimony about her parents having attended this church many years and she had not been there for awhile but she wanted to play on the piano and sing a song flowing from her heart. She proceeded to sing, “How Great Is Our God!”

Pastor Lisa then came forward and said she would begin her message from Matthew chapter 18, verses 21 and 22. Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times? Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.

She prayed that her message would go out and that the Lord would come into the morning service.

Pastor Lisa explained that God told each of us to forgive and that he had paid a great price in order to pay our debts and to get us forgiveness.

We live in a world where people are offended by everything. Many find bitterness. She said that even churches have split as a result of such. Personally we may ask how many times am I to forgive Lord. Clearly Peter said, seven times. Jesus reemphasized seventy times seven! Jesus was telling Peter that there is an unlimited time to forgive others as

the Lord has forgiven us.

After sharing several very nice stories she noted again that the blood of Jesus is all powerful!

In closing she said that God loves me and he loves you and will forgive any this morning in an invitation to the alter.

She invited all to worship even as we would leave the church singing on the way out, the last song being “God is So Good!”

As believers, let us share the Good News! Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world! Each one…Reach one! See ya in church!