DESIGN THINKING — Challenge one

Oscar Well
2 min readNov 20, 2019

--

For this challenge, we´ve been told to ideate a solution for the UrbanGo app using the Design Thinking process. My task is to create a feature for this app that solves the pain of having to purchase different public transport tickets by different channels which is one pain point for many users of this app. Let’s start by dropping some info about the company UbanGo:

UrbanGo is a public transit and mapping startup based in Silicon Valley. Their goal is to solve the problems of urban mobility by offering the quickest and cheapest public and private transport routes to their users.

The interviews.

For this task, I have resorted to five fellows who live in different capitals of Europe, Madrid, Köln, London, Barcelona, ​​Coruña. They all use public transport every day, and apps to find the most efficient way to move around their cities.
And here the takeaways.

The idea.

After brainstorming some ideas, I decided to add a feature to buy the total tickets a user needs for the route or just part of them, and include a wallet on the app where all the tickets are saved, classified by routes and where the user also can manage all of them, plus NFC to activate/access with the e-ticket when possible.

Conclusion

During this exercise, I realize how important the interviews are, and how tricky drive it can be. I am sure I made a lot of mistakes and actually, some of the answers I got were not exactly what I was expecting to get, I realized I was getting other information different than what I was looking for.

Anyway I was excited when I got the results and I saw it in an infographic way, certainly information is power.

--

--