In the Spirit of Weight Loss- A Poem: My Body, And My Soul, And I, War No More!

Okay Harold Odocha, MD
2 min readDec 1, 2022

--

My Body, And My Soul, And I, War No More!

Okay Harold Odocha, MD

The sensual delusions of sweet delights and the frantic cravings of fizzy drinks, Cream cheese, and bagels, and donuts and fried foods, I cut off.

And cut off too, the bitter spiritual wars within. And fueled my inner self with pure water, and fresh air, and green veggies, Sweet juicy fruits, and olives, and almonds, and plenty of fish, Erstwhile hates of my youth.

Quiet moments, less stress, no bitterness, tons of rest, the sweet Beatitudes of Christ, and the immense, unfettered Power of Today, of Now, I endeared my soul.

And true as sermon follows text, and night the dawning morn, the fats fell. And gone too, the scary sight of scales and weights and piles of diet pills,

And my ripped body rippled. Rippled wet with tears of gladness and rebounding joy, my spirit screamed: “At last, At Last, Hallelujah, Thank Jesus, Thank God Almighty, My Body, and My Soul, and I, war no more!”

About the Author: Okay Harold Odocha, MD is a General and Transplant surgeon who was formerly an associate professor and Chief of Liver Transplantation Services and Associate Director of Howard University Hospital Transplant Center in Washington, DC. Currently he is in private practice in rural New Mexico and an adjunct assistant professor at University of New Mexico at Albuquerque, NM. An avid reader and a never-ending student, He successfully completed the intense MIT Professional Education course on Blockchain Technology with “Excellent” in his Blockchain as a Consortium White Paper. As a writer, he is excited about poetry, and about all things Blockchain.

Disclaimer: The Author- Okay Harold Odocha, MD in this poem, makes no representation, warranty, or prescription regarding any errors, omissions, accuracy, completeness, or course of action, whether in the past, present or future, or whether real or imagined, concerning the information or materials contained in this article. The author is hereby held harmless for any consequences that may arise from reading, digesting, utilizing or referencing this body of work,

--

--

Okay Harold Odocha, MD

Dr Odocha is a transplant surgeon, writer, storyteller, poet, satirist and formerly an associate professor of surgery at Howard University, Washington, DC