The Pen Map
4 min readApr 19, 2020

The Band-Wagon Effect; An Ineffectual Decision Making Mechanism.

The word Bandwagon is a portmanteau of two words ‘band’ and ‘wagon’ which according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary denotes a popular party, faction, or cause that attracts growing support. It could also mean a current or socially accepted trend. Succinctly put, it is a phenomenon in which people do something primarily because other people do it. Unbeknown to us, this idea has been couched in our childhood colloquials “follow follow”, ‘copy copy’. Those times your friend tries to copy an idea you conceived and you try to show off by letting others know it was your idea and not hers. Lol, we all are guilty of this though (myself inclusive). I remember how I was always on my mom’s neck to get me a toy I saw at a friend’s house, not necessarily because I liked the toy, but mostly because I just wanted to have it so no one does shakara to me. Lol, nostalgic yeah? Right! So, let’s find out more on band-wagon.

Historically, bandwagon refers to a wagon that carries a band (music band) through a parade. An entertainer in the 19th century, Dan Rice, traveled the country campaigning for President Zachary Taylor. Dan Rice’s bandwagon was the centerpiece of Zachary’s campaign events. Dan Rice the entertainer was always clamoring amongst the crowd “Jump on the Bandwagon” and support Taylor. By the 20th century, bandwagons were used as a strategy by politicians in campaigning. Hence, the term became a derogatory term used to describe the phenomenon of wanting to be part of the majority, even if it means going against one’s beliefs or principles. It is no news however in the 21st century that bandwagon has more or less become a decision making mechanism, especially amongst youths and young adults.

Your decisions can either make or mar you is an apt saying. In psychology, decision making is regarded as the cognitive process resulting in the selection of a belief or a course of action amongst several alternative possibilities. We make decisions at every point in our lives, from what to eat, to the clothes to wear to school (lol, this isn’t particularly difficult for law students, we’re always on white and black) right up to life-changing decisions like where and what to study, who to marry, and a plethora of other decisions. However, most decisions we make emanate from the need to feel among, not to be left out amongst a set of people, especially amongst one’s friends. Our mindset is now structured in a way that we do not cautiously weigh the pros and cons of our decisions in so far as we aren’t alone on that journey. Liverpool’s slogan continues to ring a bell in our minds, Never walk alone! Never walk alone it thunders. We unusually now feel secure by jumping on a band-wagon.

I found out that at heart, humans are a herd of sheep; we feel better when included in a group, it gives us a false sense of belonging and connectedness even if it means burying our own beliefs and principle to obtain our greatest craving; ACCEPTANCE. Let me share my story with you.

After 6 years in secondary school, it became quite difficult for me to gain admission into a university, not because I wasn’t passing jamb or I had a bad WAEC result, things weren’t just working. I applied to a number of renowned universities in Nigeria to study law but it wasn’t forthcoming. Some of these universities offered me other nice courses to study, but I knew for a fact that I will not find fulfillment studying any other course asides law, so I kept staying at home and pushing hard. Frustration began to set in for me, my friends already pursued their alternatives, they could not afford to stay at home anymore. They wanted to be “In School” as we all call it. There I was, staunchly holding on to my dreams, law or nothing! I was never moved by the band-wagon idea of “I just want to go to school”. Since JAMB wasn’t forthcoming, I enrolled for JUPEB, read my life out and eventually got admission to study law. Do not allow society pressure you into following the trend. The fact that everyone is doing a thing doesn’t mean you should do it too. If you won’t find fulfillment doing a socially acceptable norm, then don’t do it! Hello, Think Twice before you jump on the band-wagon.

As a student, don’t offer an elective because your friends are taking that elective. Ask yourself; does it worth it, is it congruent with my mapped out interests or area of study? Answer these questions and then make your decision. Personally, I have a keen interest in environmental law. I wouldn’t offer human right as an elective because most of my friends are taking it. It doesn’t align with my interest. The earlier we realized we are not everybody, the better for us. How long are we going to be swayed by the tide?

If you allow a group of people, or even the social media enjoy so much influence over you, you will face the consequences squarely. Funnily enough, you alone will carry your cross. It pays to be unique, you don’t have to be a lone wolf to be unique, you just need to make decisions that make you stand out. Let your choices emanate from a cognitive analysis of your options and not the desire to be a proud of the roaring lot.

Conclusively, God made you distinctly, so make your choices distinctly. Think twice before jumping on the Band-Wagon!