How I Feel Following a Software Engineering Career Path

Yusuf Ariyibi
2 min readSep 3, 2019

--

Ever since I was growing up, I learnt to understand what passion truly means not particularly by reading books on the subject matter but by various experimental processes i passed through in life. Passion is in-built, it is more natural than what can be acquired with money or obtained by force.

I have had enough experience sitting in professional classes of Accounting to upgrade my management knowledge and skill to the level of being a chattered accountant. I received lessons and wrote exams with the normal ups and downs (passes and failures) until I got to the skill/Application level which is the second to the last stage of ICAN to become chattered as at 2016/2017. But with all my effort, one thing was apparently missing……. PASSION. I didn’t have passion and strong interest all along for this course, hence, it was easy to quit.

Here comes the solace. My first class in ICT was like a try-and-error thing learning basic HTML and CSS. This is where I discovered the true meaning of passion. I coded a simple HTML syntax on Dreamweaver (as introduced to me by my first trainer) and got the result instantaneously and I felt on top of the world. I was excited and started talking like a programmer already even though I was a stack beginner. I felt this undiluted joy in me beyond what words can describe. This is PASSION

I found myself sacrificing a lot of stuffs that I would ordinarily not toy with for my new career path. I passionately want to become THE BEST SOFTWARE ENGINEER in the universe, the works of whom the world will always be in need of every minute.

--

--