MY JOURNEY AS AN ANDROID DEVELOPER — Episode 1

Oladokun Oluwasegun
3 min readOct 22, 2018

--

#ShegsAndroidJourney #UyoSeries

Hello there, my name is Oladokun Oluwasegun and for the next 10 weeks I will be narrating my story as an Android Developer. The stories will be in series and two episodes will be discharged each week. I’m certain you want to follow to the end and take in life lessons from my personal story.

All through the tales you will hear names like Amaizu Melody, Usozike Adaku, Chima Prosper, Ejieke Sonia, and Ekeh Jasper. You are most likely pondering who these people are.... They are the best of friends have ever had and one way or the other they are a piece of #ShegsAndroidJourney.

We are all 400Lv undergraduates of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri. Studying Information Management Technology. Melody is the Manager of the Digital agency I established a year ago @excessneeds, Adaku is my dear friend, Prosper is the CTO of the digital agency, Sonia is my best friend, and Jasper is a badass Graphics designer.

It's altogether begun on a cool Wednesday morning when Melody suggested we intern with Start Innovation hub at Uyo preceding the journey the department made to the hub amid the semester. Non of us considered it important until the point when I began seeing pictures of things going on at the hub via social media then I decided I should visit the hub to learn. Thereafter, I collected Mr Hanson's (CEO Start Innovation hub) mobile number from my departmental director of research and Started making inquiries.

Mr Hanson really murdered the good when he said the charge for any course is #150,000. I rapidly let him know amenably that I can't bear to pay the cash however I can get my friends to desire the training too if he cuts down the charge. He giggled and said "I can see you truly want to learn" so he finance the charge to #30,000 with the condition that he won't be responsible for our accommodation. Woow.... That was a major cut.

I told my friends about my discussion with Mr Hanson and everybody got intrigued by the plan and we began making game plans for accommodation. It was very hard to get a landlord who will rent for only 3months however we later did and after the semester examination we were set and prepared for Uyo then I and Sonia who were campus ambassadors for Unilever Nigeria got a mail to join the workforce to organize the Unilever Idea Trophy National Finals. Melody, Prosper, and Ada continued to Uyo while I and Sonia took our Journey to Lagos to join them when we come back from our task. However, sadly I was the only one who joined them at Uyo. Sonia is expected to return home to her parents and Jasper stayed back in school working for his clients .

Be that as it may, there is a problem.... I don’t have the entire cash to pay for my course when I came back from Lagos and the class had already begun. So what happened when I got to Start Innovation hub?

Drop a comment of what you thought transpired when I got to Start Innovation hub.

Do not forget to clap if you like this article and follow me on Twitter and Instagram @Oladokun_shegs

--

--