The New Albuquerque Academy Logo Is a Symbol of Anger

A look at the new logo from the perspective of color and composition

Olaf Sleipnir
5 min readOct 29, 2021

Recently, the Albuquerque Academy changed their logo from the former logo on the left to the new logo on the right. My first impression of the new logo was mixed, probably because I was so fond of the former logo. Can you see putting that new logo on the back of your car? I had to give the new logo a second chance so I looked again at the logos from the perspective of machine learning (ML), color, and composition. Here is what I found.

The new Albuquerque Academy logo on left replaced the logo on the right.

Machine Learning (ML)

The first thing I did was get an ML opinion about the former and new logos side by side from Logo Rank. The ML quantified four measures for each logo: uniqueness, legibility, color/contrast, and overall. The following results showed that the ML gave both logos about the same overall score of 90 for the former logo versus 89 for the new logo. The overall score is the average of the uniqueness, legibility, and color/contrast scores. Legibility went up with the new logo but the Color/Contrast score declined, probably because of the orange in the new logo. From this one perspective of ML, the new and old logos rank overall about the same.

--

--

Olaf Sleipnir

I like to indulge my natural inclination to observe and reprove the encroachment of the valuable liberties of my Country rather than wrap my talents in a napkin