The Soft Life Advocate

Jumoke Tosin Olafimihan
2 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Pinterest

It’s been on my mind to have this put down. I was held back by procrastination 😬 and dissuaded by the difference between the ideas in one’s mind and the product when it’s written. In case the other reason reflects in this piece, kindly forgive me already and try catch the rhema.

It speaks of the Gen Zs especially, and every other human who innately, is driven towards pleasure and minimal hard work. All of us who want to kickback and relax; no form of headache-giving struggles of any kind. But I may come to doubt that these group of humans understand the gravity of what they ask. Trust me, this isn’t even about how hard work pays off and it’s a sustainable way to grow wealth…blah blah blah.

Of course, that’s the absolute truth, but...

There’s an irony. How can these humans who are sincere about the kind of work they would like to do and tthe exact amount of money they would want for the rest of their lives (quite articulate beings, I must admit) be so engrossed in other forms of strenuous activities producing negative consequences? How, right? I’ll tell you.

Have you ever tried to count grains of rice or beans? Do you like math? If you had to give up the rigour of math for a lifetime and still get The Dream Job, you would agree, wouldn’t you? But how come those who are dubbed connoisseurs of The Soft Life entangle themselves with more difficult tasks?

I’m not quite clear, right? I’ll try to speak some English.

Isn’t it ironic that someone who clamours about The Soft Life gets involved in pre-marital sex and fornication? Especially because there are high chances of unwanted pregnancy which will definitely thwart The Soft Life plan.

Pinterest

Oh yeah! I’m aware of the calculations that go on behind the scenes, the search for free days and open windows. But, really? Isn’t that more math and hard work that would do the Soft Life ambition no good at all? I mean, why do I have to engage those calculations when I don’t have to at all? Maybe the term 'Soft Life' should be revisited, don’t you think?

Alright. I feel a little better now. There’s more where that came from, a conclusion of the thoughts from my mind. Would you like to read what’s left to share?

Let me know in the comments section. Don’t forget to leave a clap and share the link too. ☺

--

--