2021: My [Tentative] Reading List

Olamide Francis
3 min readJan 1, 2021

We go again this year. No stopping in this journey of pursuing knowledge.

All readers may not be leaders but all leaders are definitely readers.

Don’t forget it’s not about how many books you read — even though it’s a healthy competition — but about the transformational effect on you. I’ll still share about how to read more books and retain what you read. For now, let's stick with this.

Below is my tentative reading list for the year. Please leave a book suggestion for me in the comment section too. I’m sure you also have amazing books to suggest to me.

I’ve read some of the books I suggested here. I just thought to read them again. They’re crucial for my 2021 journey. You might also find them useful too.

So, my fellow 'BOOKies’, let’s go.

ON HISTORY, BIOGRAPHY, ECONOMICS AND NATIONHOOD

  1. Burden of freedom by Myles Munroe

2. Nigeria’s soldiers of fortune: The Abacha and Obasanjo years by Max Siollun

3. Why nations fail: The origins of power, prosperity and poverty by Daron Acemoglu and James Robinson

4. Autobiography of Malcolm X by Alex Haley

5. Outfoxed Rupert: Rupert Murdoch's war on journalism by Alexandra Kitty

6. The man who owns the news: Inside the secret world of Rupert Murdoch by Michael Wolff

7. Rise and fall of the Third Reich by William Shirer

ON SELF DEVELOPMENT AND LIFE HACKS

8. Wealth without capital, capital beyond money by Bright Ukwenga

9. The science of getting rich by Wallace Wattles

10. The Fourth dimension by Yonggi Cho

11. Rules of Love by Richard Templar

12. The power of positive thinking by Norman Vincent Peale

13. Tipping point by Malcolm Gladwell

ON MANAGEMENT, BUSINESS, FINANCE AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

14. The rules of management by Richard Templar

15. Start with Why by Simon Sinek

16. Leaders eat last by Simon Sinek

17. The rules of entrepreneurship by Rob Yeung

18. Small business, big money by Akin Alabi

19. Awaking the entrepreneur within by Michael Gerber

20. Soar by TD Jakes

21. The parable of dollars by Sam Adeyemi

ON FAITH

22. Authority and submission by Watchman Nee

23. Spiritual Authority by Watchman Nee

24. He gave gifts unto men by Kenneth Hagin

25. Power of Faith by Smith Wigglesworth

Others books are materials related to my work in the newsroom, journalism, media&communications, writing, editing and proofreading.

As I said earlier, this a tentative list. Other books will join along the way. Please recommend a book for me too.

My next post will be on how to read more books and retain what you read.

Till then, grow your mind, one book at a time

Have a fruitful 2021.

Lessons I picked up in 2020 is still HERE for you to read.

--

--