Good and bad design memories

Ola Zajdzik
3 min readMay 28, 2020

--

I got inspired by Brian and Marshall from the Design Details Podcast to search and post my old designs. Brace yourself as this will be some old-school, horror projects. I started working commercially in 2003! By then we still called it “web-design” …I know, I’m old 😃

Sadly I was not able to find my first (private) designs (from circa 2001–2002):

  • rct.glt.pl — my first website. It was about Roller Coaster Tycoon game. It became one of the most popular in Poland at that time. I was very proud of it.
  • Pciuchomient — a website created with my then-boyfriend (now husband) with a silly monkey hack on mouse hover

BUT

I found my third, fourth, fifth, etc. so still not bad.

Let’s do this!

Site for portable toilet services.

I especially enjoy that overwhelming green color. It somehow connects nicely to the product ;) One thing that I kept from this project was to always check what monitor setting clients have. I think we went for 4 revisions before I learned that they had contrast on 100% and that is why they kept telling me that the green too strong.

Website for company selling office furniture

Clean, minimalistic design. Straight to the point, prominent contact info, and easy access to the whole product catalog. Not bad, not bad.

Professional catering services

Clearly I was the pioneer in skeuomorphism. If I remember correctly this was done in flash, so the pages were turning to simulate a real-life menu.

Again, good idea with that prominent contact data.

Yacht Marina

Looking at it now I recognize some good ideas like including that banner ($$$ is always important), prominent newsletter, weather info, basic knowledge base.

Website for Spice importer

I must admit I enjoy that old-school styling (those fonts!).

I remember spending a lot of time in photoshop playing with various tutorials and brushes just to be able to create that worn-out paper look and feel.

Ok, that is enough design shaming.

Hopefully, you had as much fun as me when looking at them 🤣 I really enjoyed that walk down memory lane. Without a doubt, I came a long way. I’m incredibly happy that I’m still working in the design field. Being able to do that makes me smile every day.

Thanks for reading!

If you want to compare those are my current project > https://dribbble.com/mienta

Illustration > https://getillustrations.com/

--

--

Ola Zajdzik

👋 I’m a mom (👶,🐶), wife and designer. I love working on products (UX/UI) and Design Systems. I also play 🏀 even though I’m not very good at it.