100 MOVIES IN A YEAR: #16 Panic Room

will weldon
2 min readAug 23, 2017

--

Jared Leto at his most bearable

I haven’t posted in a long time because I came as close to being insane as I can comfortably say without claiming I literally went insane. The idea of having to write about the stupid fucking movies I was watching was something I couldn’t even begin to think about; besides, I was mostly watching the same three or four movies I’d already seen. One movie I did manage to watch that I had (somehow) never seen before was Panic Room. Panic Room is in line with The Game, in that it is a David Fincher film that is just a thriller; it doesn’t aspire to be anything more than just a very good Hollywood film, and where The Game succeeds on those ground, Panic Room wildly exceeds them. There’s no reason for any hired gun thriller to not strive to be this good; every character is not only a real character, but they matter. Every moment of the film matter. It is just an exceptionally economical film, and now that I think about it, I can believe that I haven’t seen this movie before; it’s not the kind of movie that is ever described as being more than “Very good” because that’s all it’s striving to be. If only more of these kinds of movies did.

--

--