Patriotic War Through the Eyes of European Photographers: my art works presented at photo exhibition in Ganja, Azerbaijan

Oleksandra
3 min readJan 10, 2023

--

Together with other European photographers I was a part of the Project “Patriotic War Through the Eyes of European Photographers’’ in Azerbaijan.

Aim of the Project was to promote peace among youth and countries, to show aftereffects of War and the cities which became ghost cities during 30 years occupation. The second purpose of the project was to share information about Azerbaijan cultural heritage, customs and history through the eyes of European Photographers.

We visited liberated areas and places in Karabakh region and Ganja city, which were damaged by bomb attacks in time Patriotic War.

Through the art of photography, I discover the history and cultural heritage of Karabakh, increased the knowledge of conflict management and disseminate the world community about the War.

During the research I took photos which was selected by a jury to be exhibited in Ganja and Europe.

Also, I got a chance to exchange my experience with locals: people, media, government.

Here are some of my works presented at exhibition:

The Project was organized by “Ganja European Youth Capital 2016” Public Union and funded by Azerbaijan Youth Foundation.

*My passion for photography is a never-ending journey of learning and self-improvement. I firmly believe in the power of visuals as a language that enables us to see into each other’s lives, one frame at a time. With every shot I take, quality is always my top priority. My photographs are about feelings and emotions, harmony of relationships, state of mind and moments that are valuable to the heart.

Growing up in Kyiv, Ukraine, my path to photography was a serendipitous yet significant one. In 2021, I was honored to become a member of the Ukrainian Association of Professional Photographers. As I’m interested in psychology I possess a natural ability to capture the emotions and feelings of the people in the frame.

The article was prepared by Sana Lisova — journalist, researcher, public activist

--

--

Oleksandra

Oleksandra is a Journalist, Scientist, Researcher and Public Activist. She closely involved in the formation and development of the local community.