Our 24 Hour Candidate Response Commitment

Dialing down the anxiety factor in interviewing

Oliver Cameron
1 min readDec 16, 2015

--

When I interviewed with a bunch of tech companies some years ago, my face resembled the following emoji as I waited for the hire and no hire responses to appear in my inbox: šŸ˜±

I canā€™t think of anything more anxiety inducing than an on-site job interview. Did those people like me? Did I screw up that problem? Why did I horrifically mis-spell the word ā€œthesaurusā€ on the whiteboard (true story)? At Udacity, we want to dial that anxiety down for our candidates, so weā€™re introducing the 24 Hour Candidate Response Commitment.

How It Works

Starting today, when you apply for a role at Udacity, look in the job description for a mention of the 24 Hour Candidate Response Commitment. With this commitment for a position, it means we will get back to you with a hire or no hire within one business day of your on-site interview. We are committing all engineering, product management, student services and design positions to this response timeframe, with more to come. Itā€™s the least we can do for our candidates, many of whom travel great distances to interview with us.

Please visit our jobs page to apply today!

--

--

Oliver Cameron

Obsessed with AI. Built self-driving cars at Cruise and Voyage. Board member at Skyways. Y Combinator alum. Angel investor in 50+ AI startups.