Directing Harriet Walter ‘A Great Actress’

Oliver Pearn
3 min readNov 25, 2023

--

Dame Harriet Walter, currently stars in the National Theatre production of The House of Bernard Alba. Harriet is also up for two Emmy nominations for her performances in Succession and Ted Lasso at the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards on the 16th January 2024.

As the Director of her latest feature film On The Line. I wanted to share my experience of working with this great actress and even greater person.

Harriet Walter. The House of Bernard Alba. (2023) @NationalTheatre

Olivier Award-winner Harriet is supportive and without ego when we worked together on the film On The Line. As a first time Director she instantly put me at ease, I was fully aware of her ability in the most memorable roles in recent television and film.

No doubt she is the best actor I have ever worked with. Here is why…

Her presence is simply amazing. She just had to walk in the room and commanded attention. There was something very sweet about her too, this woman who could look very frightening is the loveliest person.

If you were to tell me that this brilliant actor would appear in anything I’d written and let alone directed, I’d have thought you were insane.

Harriet has captivated me across all her performances from Sense and Sensibility to Henry IV. Yes, and more recently as a string of horrible mothers. Thanks for showing us what it’s like to wear greatness lightly.

Whether performing for stage, a Ridley Scott epic, or a quintessential English movie, she gives her all to every performance.

One memory of working with Harriet is that she called me “brave.” Here was a feature film I shot in just five days, and would harbour my aspirations to Premiere at Newport Beach Film Festival and find a home across Apple TV+ and Amazon Prime.

I understand more, and more, about what she meant about being brave in the entertainment industry. Harriet’s recent advice in British Vogue puts this best, “My advice is the 3 C’s, Courage, Compassion and Curiosity. Don’t lose them, and you’ll get to my age. I’m 105!” (105, well maybe not yet!)

Her capacity to fell you with a look or lift you with a word was extraordinary. I remember asking after one take, “were you happy with that one?” In truth I felt like a novice in the presence of a master.

Harriet paused, a thoughtful expression playing on her face. “I’d like to have another go,” she said, her eyes reflecting a commitment to perfection.

Harriet took pleasure in the nitty-gritty, the messy, beautiful process that made the final product worth it. A friendly reminder to savour the ride and find joy in the journey.

The polar opposite of the icy, manipulating characters she is best known for, Harriet is hilarious, warm-hearted and fabulous company.

The House of Bernarda Alba will be at the National Theatre, SE1, from 16 November to 6 January 2024.

On The Line premieres in the UK on Apple TV+ on January 16th 2024, and US/Canada on the 26th January 2024.

--

--