4 legal ways to make money in the 21st century — ranked by level of shadiness

This post brought to you by the letter V, for vomit.

Olivia Barrow
10 min readMar 22, 2018
Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

A few weeks ago I attended an event that looked super relevant to the current stage of my business, and to that of several members of my current Gignite cohorts.

It was called “How to Monetize your Passion Project.”

Sounds legit, right? I mean, you’d click on that if it was an ad headline on social media, right?

About 15 minutes into the talk, I got that same sick feeling in my stomach that I get on the rare occasions when I click on a link on social media I know I shouldn’t that takes me to a disreputable website with a terrible user experience, that’s probably stealing my identity.

I’d been snookered.

It’s not that the person giving the presentation was disingenuous, or was blatantly trying to sell us something. It’s that her workshop title tapped into a universal desire of all millennials, but then utterly failed to deliver any substance, and it’s part of a big, gross trend that I’m seeing everywhere.

I can’t stop thinking about it.

My generation seems to be completely obsessed with creating passive income streams. I can’t blame them. The concept…

--

--