Willpower won’t get you out of bed, but this question will.

Olivia Barrow
3 min readSep 19, 2017

At 6:30 a.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays, no matter the weather, a group of fitness enthusiasts gets together in 43 cities around the world. This free running and body-weight exercise group is called November Project, and I participate with religious fervor.

To many of my friends, November Project sounds like a chore. “There’s no way I would get up that early,” they say. “You must have a lot of willpower to make yourself go every time.”

Willpower is the ability to say no to the thing you really want, and say yes to the thing you really need.

But it’s not the reason why I roll out of bed so easily at 5:55 a.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays.

I’ve never been a morning person, and in the past I’ve actively avoided working out in the mornings because I found it difficult to time it around my morning poop.

But when I heard about November Project, and when I experienced it for the first time, something clicked.

This is me. This is badass. I want to be the kind of person who shows up no matter what.

This is why I was hooked from day one. “I go to November Project” is now a core part of my identity. It’s tangible proof that I’m the kind of person I want to be — positive, undaunted by obstacles, welcoming…

--

--