The Rise of Influencers

Olivia Kelley
2 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Dallas Slankard posing at her party. Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024, in Aurora, Colorado

Popular app TikTok has emerged as an interactive social media platform for content curators, offering its users the opportunity to express themselves for others to see. The app has a vast landscape of influencers setting new trends.

Additionally, influencers of smaller scale branded as micro-influencers are rising. One of which is Dallas Slankard, a twenty-nine-year-old working in accounting. With 93,000 followers on TikTok, it is easy to say she has a significant effect. Slankard has found many motivations and experiences she wants to share.

“One of my biggest motivations is relatability. I want my followers to see that it is okay to be authentic and to be yourself,” Slankard said.

She often posts on her account @dallyjeeaan real-time “get ready with me” videos where she applies her makeup and does her hair, all while detailing her personal stories. Her videos have a theme, often focusing on mental health, life as an adult, and dating experiences, with the majority of her fans identifying as women between the ages of 25 to 50.

Slankard detailed how important communication is nowadays and views her followers as friends more than fans.

“I try to post as many videos as I can, not because I want fame, but rather to keep up with the authenticity,” Slankard noted.

Tiana Kennedy, Colorado State University’s Vice President of Communications detailed the importance of communication, especially with today's rise of social media users.

“Social media is about both community and connection. Building relationships with the audience is important especially now with shifts towards digital communication, ” Kennedy stated.

“I studied theater in college so I have always enjoyed entertaining people, so posting to social media comes very easy to me,” Slankard said. “Posting about my experiences in life especially mental health is important to me.”

Slankard continued, stating how sharing her own experiences with others has not only helped her discover her love for social media but has made her feel more comfortable in her mental health journey.

Bailey Schmitz who follows Slankard details how important it is to have realistic influencers.

“There’s a lot of fakeness when it comes to social media. I often find myself following people who seem more real. It’s more meaningful that way,” Schmitz said.

“This is something I think I will do for a long time to come,” Slankard gushed. “I really do enjoy it.”

--

--