The Guide to Plus Size Shopping in Thailand

In the Western World many shops seem to be catching up with the growing demand for cute, affordable, sustainable, plus size clothes. That’s great! Unfortunately, that does nothing for us bigger folks living in Thailand. As a fat woman living in Bangkok for over three years now, I have had a lot of frustrating experiences. I am here to help you with those- at least the ones related to clothes shopping. There are actually quite a few options for plus size shopping: both online and in-person, new and secondhand, even vintage right here in Bangkok!

Olivia Gilmore
7 min readJan 5, 2022

Let’s start with the in-person options. Sometimes you need something ASAP, or just a bit of retail therapy. I will say: for ANY plus size shopping done in Thailand, you must know your measurements in INCHES (counter-intuitive, I know). If you are unsure of your measurements, go ahead and purchase a measuring tape off of Lazada or buy at a market, just make sure it is coming from a reputable store, as many have “Chinese inches” which will not give you an accurate reading on the inches side, however, the centimeters are usually still correct. For reference purposes, my measurements are bust-waist-hip: 47–41–53 and I believe about 18–20 in US sizing. Once you know your measurements, it’s time to get shopping!

Close to Pratunam Mall, walkable from BTS Chidlom

1. Krung Thong Plaza

This is the go-to suggestion for those seeking plus size clothes in Bangkok. Located walking distance from BTS Chidlom, it is convenient to get to and has a variety of options. You will have to excuse the fact that many of the shops are called “Piggy” “Fat Girl” “Ladies Phat” etc. It’s good to have a sense of humor when you’re fat and in Thailand. Sizes go up to 54+ inch waist, and there are even some straight sized options if you’re there with a friend. They have it all: jeans, dresses, skirts, tops, leggings, pants, work clothes, etc. The prices are usually wholesale, so it’s cheaper if you buy in bulk. However, I usually purchase from the stalls “sale racks” out front, where items range from 100 THB — 300 THB. I will warn you, not every item is high quality. Many of the pieces I have purchased from there are made cheaply with scratchy material. So be careful with what you buy, especially if you’re like me and have sensitive skin. I would not call these clothes sustainable, however I have bought some high quality shirts and jeans from there.

2nd floor in Gateway Ekkemai

2. Discount Outlet

THIS is the best place. Really high quality, imported clothes, from XS up to a size 4X. That’s a US 4X, not an Asian 4X. This place is especially good if you are looking for athleticwear! Last time I went they had a ton of new Fabletics brand clothing for only 200thb. That’s a bargain! They also have dresses, pants, shirts, even winter coats of equal caliber. I highly recommend checking this store out. It’s on the 2nd floor in Gateway Ekkemai, right on the BTS. As a bonus: They often take off extra money at the register depending on how much you spend.

You can recognize it by the light boxes towards the front

3. Vintage Stall in Chatuchak

If you are interested in vintage and secondhand clothes — I have made the discovery for you. Close to Chatuchak (JJ’s) Market, there is an indoor, multi-story mall. On Google maps, it’s called DD Mall. It’s loaded with antiques and cool finds. There is one stall towards the back (non-street side) on the penultimate floor that has a ton of reasonably priced vintage clothing. As a plus size person, I usually stay away from vintage for fear of it all being way too small. However, I’m glad I looked through the racks as I was pleasantly surprised to find MANY pieces that would fit me, and someone larger than me. I bought a nice vintage 80s-style green floral dress for just 100 THB. I couldn’t believe it was that cheap. I kept thinking it would be a mistake and when I check out she would tell me it’s 500 THB. But nope, at the register she rang me up for 100 THB then tried to get me to buy a dress that was far too large for me. You know how straight sized people are, lol. I highly recommend checking this place out if you’re interested in second hand/ vintage clothes.

Terminal 21, Fashion floor

4. Random stalls/ shops

Sometimes you get lucky and find a random stall at a night market or a mall. This particular picture was taken at Terminal 21. I’ve never been to this stall, I don’t have clothes from there, but they are advertising plus size. There also used to be a Plus Size stall in Onnut, at that little market outside of Tesco Lotus, but I’m honestly not sure if it survived COVID. I’m mostly including this section to say- if you see something you like at a random plus size stall, BUY IT. you will never see it again.

5. Clothing Swaps

There are actually quite a few of us plus size people living in Bangkok! I have attended personal and commercial clothing swaps before with success! Swap ’Til You Drop (https://www.facebook.com/swaptilyoudropbkk ) is a popular bangkok-based organization that focuses on creating conscious consumers. I know it can be intimidating to attend an all-sizes swap. It can even be annoying to sort through tons of straight sized clothes to just find a few things that will fit. But I can say with certainty they DO have plus size clothes, and I have brought home many things from past swaps. I highly recommend attending with a straight sized friend in case you are uncomfortable. I have also had luck swapping clothes with just a few local plus size friends, when we feel our closets are getting boring.

6. Home of Grace

This is a charity shop with secondhand clothes. It’s located a bit outside of Bangkok, but you can message their facebook to ask what they have in stock. Best part is, the money goes to a good cause. Here is their facebook: https://www.facebook.com/homeofgracebkk

Now for those of you that hate shopping in-person, or if you’re not located in the Bangkok Metropolis, you do still have a few online options! Let’s talk about those.

Me in a 3X Shein Dress

1. Shein

We know it. We hate to love it. Shein is, of course, a bad company that we shouldn’t support. However, since there’s no ethical consumption under capitalism, and it’s very difficult to find plus size clothes in Asia, unfortunately Shein is a must. They have cute stuff that is cheap, just don’t expect it to last long. I often buy bathing suits and underwear there, as I have not found these items in my size anywhere else in Thailand. I’ll probably get hate for promoting Shein, but I would love for those people to show me another option. Shein has clothes up to a size 4X, but you MUST check the measurements AND the reviews before adding an item to your cart. Many of the reviews contain photos of actual people wearing the item as well, which is a great way to picture how it will look on you. Here I am in a Shein dress. I typically wear a 3X from them.

2. Lalita Market Instagram

This has been my favorite find. This instagram shop carries high-quality secondhand clothes up to a waist size of 60 inches +. They sell by measurements, not sizes. You can DM the account directly with a screenshot of the item you want, and she is quick to reply. Most of the clothes are good for work/ professional settings, but there are a few ‘fun pieces’ as well. She ships quickly and I usually get the clothes in a day or two. Here is the account: https://instagram.com/lalitamarket_?utm_medium=copy_link

3. IG

I highly recommend following the IG hashtag #PlussizeThailand. Not only will you have gorgeous plus size babes on your TL, you will also have IG shops popping up. Many of these shops are actually the same ones they have in Krung Thong Plaza, but offered online for your convenience. Here is an example: https://instagram.com/ladiess_phatt?utm_medium=copy_link

4. Lazada/ Shoppee

You can search “plus size” or “big size” on either of these online shopping apps and you will get many options. I can’t vouch for the quality of each one, but I did get some nice work skirts from this shop: https://s.lazada.co.th/s.5peBw

5. Facebook

Join facebook groups such as “All About Clothes Bangkok” or “Bangkok Women’s Collective”. Often plus size individuals (myself included) will be selling items from their closets directly.

So there you have it, the (probably) definitive guide to plus size shopping in Bangkok. I hope you found this helpful, and I do believe the plus size clothing industry is growing in Thailand. If you have anything to add or are interested in a clothing swap, feel free to reach out to me on Instagram @ThatOMGKid!

--

--