My insights from IBM’s Product Management Boot Camp (AOM Boot Camp)

Olivia Gulsvig
3 min readMar 25, 2019

--

I recently completed IBM’s 6 week long Product Management training called AOM Boot Camp in Austin, Texas.

The program is designed to teach new Product Mangers the skills and tools needed to be successful in the discipline and at IBM. I was privilege to attend camp with 22 Product Managers and from various backgrounds and collaborate with a sister training program called #IBMPatterns, comprised of 60 Designers with backgrounds in UX, Visual Design, Content Design and FED.

I’ m brand new to the PM world so below is my attempt to provide insights of my experience. The content was originally posted in a 3 segment series on LinkedIn.

Week 2

I just finished up my second week in of Product Management training at the #AOMBootCamp in the #IBMDesign Studio in Austin.

At the moment my world consists of whiteboards, sharpies, and so many sticky notes. The techniques my cohort and I are learning encourage Design Thinking, agility and cross-discipline collaboration. The education and business application via an incubator project will help me learn the skills I need to expand my critical thinking skills and transition from Sales to Product Management. For those in the world of Product Management, any nuggets of wisdom would be most welcome. #productmanagement

IBM Enterprise Design Thinking Workshop

Week 4

Real talk, this is my what my work environment looks like every day at the #AOMBootCamp. My Incubator team is taking a solution from initial research to a final Playback. We are doing this with IBM Enterprise Design Thinking methodologies.

My mental models are expanding via work on the project. For example I now practice Phil Gilbert, IBM’s Head of Design idea that, “every day is a prototype.” I’ve realized iteration is everything. The product one see’s on the trending tab of Youtube or the sleek UX interface of a top SaaS application is not v1. Instead, it was an idea that forwent many iterations, practice, and playbacks.

The excitement is in the process and progression from v1 to v2 to v3 and so on. It’s important to remember there will always be a v1 so the key is to start. When you get stuck, stop talking, grab some stickies and start writing. #IBMDesign

Incubator Project AS-IS, TO-BE Exercise

Week 6

I’ve finished up Product Management (PM) training at the #AOMBootCamp in Austin and the new knowledge got me THINKing…

❇ Influence and inspiration are essential: PM’s must align business units on a vision solely through influence and inspiration.
❇ Spotting the difference: By pivoting from IBM Sales to IBM Product Management I reexamined the exact same solution or problem from a second perspective, unearthing the differences between the two disciplines’ methodologies to achieve the same results.
❇ Ideas are plentiful, execution is rare: Working with creatives in the heart IBM’s ideation facility made me realize the importance of applied business strategies and execution.
❇ Brisket is BOMB, so are breakfast tacos and y’all is now in my vocabulary.

I’ve returned to the Bay Area and I’m eager to apply these learnings directly to my PM job. Stay tuned!

Final Playback (Presentation) of Incubator Project to Stakeholders (On the Couch)

--

--