The Chaos In Our Twenties.

Moyosore Olopade
3 min readJul 31, 2022

--

art from pinterest

Nobody told us adulthood would be like this, the only thing we saw growing up where the girly aunties in their shiny pants ,Afros touching the sky , and skin smelling like juicy coconuts.

No one told us of the nights that they would cry till dawn, wipe their eyes in the morning, and still, wear their gloss that stayed till sunset, wore their Dior perfumes and stepped out like they had no cares, we did not even recognize that they wore resilience the same same way they wore hot shorts, almost everyday.

I mean, not even the aunties.

And now I’m in my twenties, thinking thoughts that would have never crossed the mind of the nine year old me.

But the thing is, we’re here and we’re here now, and for the most part, I know being a young adult is exhausting, and confusing.

Half of the time your stomach is churning and your heart is burning, seeing if you’re making the right decision on even the most mundane of things, catching a break sometimes feels sinful right?

Now you have to worry about money, no one is coming to save you because you’re now the adult.

It goes on and on, you could never finish counting them, the chaos in our twenties.

In one of the books I’ve been binging on recently, I read a part that said “there’s no point in being miserable anymore” and take from that what you will.

I don’t have any lessons or nuggets to help navigate , I’m also thrown in churning pits of my twenties , I’m just saying , be more into life, you’re never going to experience this particular whirlwind again, like others would show for sure, that’s life but the ones in this time period?

They’re going to stay here.

Be the foolish young adult, the one who is confused, worried, exhilarated, the one who feels a thousand emotions at the same time.

I spend a lot of time by myself, mostly by designs beyond my control, and I have decided to invest in all my interests instead of worrying and I have a lot , both worries and interests, believe me.

I’m going to enjoy the chaos of this period, and it’s up to you if you’d be consumed or if you’d ride it out.

I spent hours mulling if I’d should post this, but if you’re reading this post, then you know my decision.

You’re never going to have your twenties again, live it despite of the way it shows up.

side note: my friend made a comment on one of the pictures I used for my July dump and I hope that soon, I get to live my life by that quote.

I’m definitely sure i spelt medium wrong, eh-eh i did.

I didn’t get to explore any music or movies this week but instead it was a Bible verse that stayed with me.

Matthew 6: 25–26

--

--

Moyosore Olopade

A blossoming wallflower. My writings are an extension of my thoughts, a struggle for freedom and a place of rest. Welcome.