Olumide Ebigbola
3 min readJan 6, 2024

Oh yeah, it’s a new year! Happy new year to you and yours!

In the spirit of recognising progress and growth, I decided to build this habit of writing about every week of my year 2024 in a medium post.

Actually, this was inspired by a random WhatsApp status I saw sometime in 2023. The status had a link to a medium article and the article was basically a summary of the writer’s week and I thought it a brilliant idea to do something similar this new year.

Two things I think this habit will help me achieve are that;

1. It will make taking stock of how I spent my year quite easy for me i.e. it will help me track a lot of things I’ll be doing this year.

2. It will make people know me and my interests better (people who are interested anyways, lol)

I definitely cannot write about everything that happens to me within the week in a single post, else I would end up writing books every week. The deal is to write about things I find interesting enough to share.

These articles will sometimes be short and other times, long, depending on how eventful my week was (or otherwise) or how much I choose to share. So, let’s go!

I started the new year with a bang! lol, I took a course on Udemy on January 1st, finished the course same day and got my certificate (see photo below). Don’t worry, it’s not initial gra gra. The course was a short one (less than 2 hours) so I committed to finishing it at one go (turned off my phone notifications and made myself unavailable to other distractions) and I was able to finish the course as planned. This might be a hack that I will implement often this year to see things through especially when it comes to learning. For longer courses that might take weeks or months, I will set milestones to achieve every week and commit to those milestones. Never again will unfinished courses stare at me at the end of the year. Lol!

I listened to the final episode of the “Open Africa podcast” for 2023 and it was a good one. I procrastinated on doing this though, I should have listened to it in December but anyways I got it done. This podcast really helped me stay abreast of developments in the Nigerian and African tech ecosystem in 2023. Within the last 6 months of 2023 I listened to all existing episodes of this podcast and I can tell you I’m better for it. So, if you’re interested in tech, venture capital, product and business management in general you can try this podcast (see link to website here — www.openafricapodcast.com )

I also started my Javascript course all over again. I should have done this in December, precisely during the festive season but omo! I couldn’t! (can’t trade Christmas rice for anything please). I’ve started it now though and with commitment and dedication, I will be able to build some exciting projects this year.

I should take this opportunity to express gratitude to God for my local church (Celebration Church International), the structures put in place to enable our consistency with devotion and study have really helped me and I know things will only get better! After all, the path of righteous only shines brighter and brighter innit?

There’s this book I’m reading titled “Cloud Engineering for Beginners”. It’s really a great resource and kudos to Adora for making complex concepts easily understandable in this book. If you’re a tech enthusiast I’m sure you’ll find it a good read. You can check adoranwodo.com for details on how to get a copy.

I’ll stop here now guys. My first post should really not be an epistle (l hope it’s not already).

I’m definitely committed to self-development this year and I hope you are too.

“See” you next week!