30 Days Writing Challenge

Daniel Olunu
3 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Day 3: A Memory.

Everything behind us is nothing but memories, and these are the stories we tell the world of how we have been living. The good, bad and ugly times all intercept to bring me to where I am now.

But let’s talk about this particular one, which I think would be fun, it was the day I wanted to run away from home.

So, on that faithful day, which was on a Saturday if I am correct, my mum and dad had gone out and I have been instructed by my dad to wash one of his cars, the Nissan xtera. So, after doing all the indoor chores, I got out to begin to wash the car, so upon starting, a neighbourhood friend came in, ooh I should be happy right, I found someone to join me, making the work easier, faster and even more fun.

Yeah, my dad had already packed the car close to the tap so it wouldn’t be stressful fetching water and moving it about. So, we started washing the car, catching cruise, and all of that. In a while we were done, we should go back upstairs, then I dress and we go out to play.

Then suddenly he said “guy how far come move this car now”, so you can pack it properly, I was reluctant to answer because I couldn’t drive, and also, I didn’t want any trouble with my dad, you just don’t want it. Well one way or the other I was both convinced and confused.

Then I took the key, entered the car and started it, this was actually my first time trying to drive a car, so I started the car, then put the gear to reverse, cause there was no space in front to move, being an automatic car, I put my leg on the accelerator with force, the car jerked and boom immediately went into the wall beside it, wow I immediately removed my leg and switched the engine off, came down and saw the damage, I started panicking, what have I done, what can I do to salvage this mess.

First of all, after seeing all the damage done, the backlight broken and some scratches on the wall, I told him to help me move the car forward because he could drive. We then went out to find glue or where to buy the back light, going all around the area, into all the car equipment shops we couldn’t find any replacement and then glue wouldn’t even work because the damage was beyond repair.

Later that evening, packed some of my clothes, wrote a letter of how sorry I was, and how I had disappointed my parents, so I couldn’t say back to let them see, I then called him and told him I was running away, he asked to where, I didn’t know, well probably find somewhere to start a new life make some money and then come back home with a brand new car.

On getting to the end of the street he was just laughing at me, and telling me that what do I even think I’m doing, lmao, after everything I went back home picked up the phone call to call my dad to tell him what I have done.

To my surprise he didn’t react the way I would have expected him to react, he just laughed and that passed.

Looking back at this, it seems so funny.

So, what memory do you want to let us know.

--

--