My FIGMA Journey

Olusegun Aribido
2 min readNov 11, 2017

--

Figma logo

After using Adobe Illustrator for some time for my UI Design I decide it is time to try a new tool. Hey! I want to try a new design tool…Namnso Ukpanah (a wonderful and cool-headed designer) is always talking about a wonderful tool called Figma. What is Figma? Figma is the first interface design tool based in the browser, making it easier for teams to create software. WOW! That sound exciting, it is time to try FIGMA. I never understood my Namnso was preaching about FIGMA until I start using it.

Holla! First thing first I signed up on Figma then I downloaded it on my computer everything on it look like the dashboard of an aeroplane, hmmm… where do I start from? I search online for some tutorials but couldn’t find any (maybe there are some now, I don’t know), so I put a call through to Namnso and we had two-three hours tutorial on a Sunday on Figma, then I realize it was not as difficult as I thought. I decided to try my hands on some designs and wireframe on my own boooom I am good to go.

Was the switch to Figma really worth it? Yes! Let me put something straight Adobe is a very good tool and I will recommend it to anybody that wants to start design to start with Adobe Illustrator. Just like the way they advice that it is good to learn driving with a manual car before switching to an automatic car, that is what Adobe is for every designer that is using and later switched to Figma. If you can understand Adobe Illustrator to understand Figma will be very easy.

Screen Shot Showing Comment and Share

Figma actual have simplified so many processes thereby making designer spend less time in getting some shape or curves done within the shortest period of time, and increasing productivity. With Figma, you can collaborate with other designers because it gives room for you to be able to share your work online and in real-time with other people. So you don’t need to worry about uploading your work on a different platform for other people to see for corrections and comments. With Figma you can give developers the correct CSS colours code, font size and the right image because of it has a CSS code column that gives you the right information without you stressing yourself. Enjoy your design with Figma and let us make the community more interesting.

I am still a FIGMA learner.

--

--

Olusegun Aribido

Socrates said, "Know thyself." I say, "Know thy users." And guess what? They don't think like you do.| UI/UX Designer | Portfolio: www.uplabs.com/seguna