Oluwasanmi Idowu
4 min readOct 5, 2022

MY JOURNEY FROM BEING A GADGET LOVER TO BECOMING A TECHNICAL ENTHUSIAST.

Hello Techies and Friends.

Welcome back to the second episode of my story. I'm sure you enjoyed the first part of my story. If YES, then this will be no different.

I hope you got popcorn today, if not pause reading this journal and go out to get some popcorn and coke.

LOL!

Welcome back, now Hop in, let's ride together.

I came across Edupoint Limited @Edupoint January 2021. It is an Edutech Company that has impacted thousands of lives through teaching.

Their services range from teaching school subjects, high end skills, extracurriculars and even offer tech services like website development.

They have also partnered with top private and public organisations including Lagos state government of which I was privileged to be a subcontractor and beneficiary.

When I was shortlisted for the Year's cohort training, my joy knew no bounds. I didn't go with any specific goal but just to keep myself busy and learn. Earning would be a big plus to it.

The training started and we were trained intensively by some inhouse professionals on Coding and Robotics.

That particular month of training was very exhausting but also rewarding. I was surprised we were given stipends at the end of the month.

"But why should we get paid for learning?" I thought. Since no one was there to answer, I moved on. LOL! Don't judge me.

Based on performance, I was shortlisted among the few who were deployed after about 2 months of intensive training.

Now it was time to face my fears. I was going to be training students on digital skills. Not just students but public school students (i.e) government schools.

Yes, it was at that time Edupoint partnered with Lagos State government as a delivery partner in the Eko Digital students empowerment programme.

This was targeted to teach students Digital skills specifically coding to prepare them for life after secondary school.

It was there I discovered that there's a great deal of fulfillment when you pass what you know to younger generations. It is thrilling to be an impactful person.

I taught an estimate of more than one thousand (1000) students in various schools across District VI.

Credit to the current Special Adviser to the Governor on Education.

It was fun, exhausting and also a very great deal of experience for me.

One major aspect I loved was the fact that these students' enthusiasm was contagious. I couldn't afford to go to class unprepared because these students had loads of questions.

I was motivated each day to see people listen attentively to the knowledge a young boy like me had to pass. It was a mixture of utmost fulfillment and happiness.

I’ll be sharing some beautiful moments of myself impacting students during the project below

The project spanned for months but I can tell you that the experience I gathered had the same value as that of years in the teaching industry.

WHY? I was moving across different schools simultaneously and getting a different feeling in each school I visited.

I was also exposed to the public system of teaching and it was amazing.

A big applause to Public schools in Lagos. The little schools I visited, their coordination and warm welcome was amazing. Even their facilities were managed excellently.

Kudos to the Tutor General for District VI Mrs. Oludara Okelola and the various school principals who worked hand in hand to make sure of this.

After rounding off the programme, then it dawned on me, how do I continue from here, it's been too good to be called off.

What move do you think I made next. Remember, school was still in session and I was combining studies and work together.

DID I CONTINUE WITH SCHOOL OR I JUST FOLLOWED MY PASSION TO FIND MYSELF WHERE I AM TODAY?

Find out in the next episode of MY JOURNEY as a Tech Enthusiast.

Thanks for reading.

If you enjoyed reading this, Kindly drop a CLAPS and COMMENT on what part you found thrilling the most.