English Grammar: if

oliverhuynh
5 min readAug 14, 2022

--

To understand how to use the English Conditional sentence.

Examples of conditional sentences:

  1. If he comes, ask him to wait.

2. If it rains, we will get wet.

TYPE 0: REAL (AS THE MATTER OF FACT) AND POSSIBLE SITUATIONS

Examples:

  1. If you give respect, you get respect. (the common sense understanding of human ethic, as in give and take aka Karma)
  2. If you heat ice, it melts. (the law of physic)

How to apply:

  • The 1st and 2nd clause = simple present

TYPE 1: POSSIBLE SITUATIONS AND THEIR PROBABLE RESULTS — NOT YET HAPPENED

Examples:

  1. If you work hard, you will succeed. (I know your ability, and if you do so, you will get the “succeed” as the result)
  2. If you ask him, he will help you. (I know him very clearly, if you ask him, he properly will help you)
  3. If you invite them, they will come .(they’re friendly and I know they well, if you do invite them, I know they will come)

How to apply:

  • The 1st clause = simple present
  • The 2nd clause = simple future

TYPE 2: SUGGEST A THEORETICAL SITUATION AND GIVEN ITS CONSEQUENCE RESULTS —NOT YET HAPPENED BUT IT’S LIKELY YOU WILL GET THE RESULT IF YOU DO SO

Examples:

  1. If I studied, I would pass the exams. (I haven’t take the test, but if I did, likely I would pass it; Same for the below 3 more examples, just change the possibility words: Would/could and might)
  2. If I studies, I could pass the exams.
  3. If I studies, I might pass the exams.
  4. I would pass the exams, if I studies (The if-clause can sit at the beginning of the sentence, comma is vital to act as a separator)

How to apply:

  • 1st clause = simple past
  • 2nd clause = would/could/might + infinitive (to-v)

TYPE 3: SUGGEST AN IMPOSSIBLE THEORETICAL SITUATION AND ITS CONSEQUENCE RESULT — ALREADY HAPPENED, SIMILAR TO I WISH, I WISH FOR REDO, BUT I CAN’T (REGRETTING EMOTION)

Examples:

  1. If I had studies, I would have passed the exams. (I took the test, however, because of not study enough, so I failed. Therefore, I wish for a redo, but we can’t revert the time; Same for the rest examples)
  2. If I had studies, I could have passed the exams.
  3. If I had studies, I might have passed the exams.
  4. I would have passed the exams, if I had studies. (The if-clause can sit at the beginning of the sentence, comma is vital to act as a separator)

How to apply:

  • 1st clause = Past perfect
  • 2nd clause = would/could/might+ have + past verb

Exceptional and Special Usages:

  1. If I were you, I would phone him. (I wish I could be you, however I can’t)
  2. Unreal and Real Condition:
  • Type 0 and 1 are real condition (fact) → Use “Can” → If I have money, I can spend it
  • Type 2 and 3 are unreal condition (theoretical) → Use “Could/might” → If I had money, I could/might spend it)

3. Mixed Conditionals:

They’re a more complex and beyond the application of 4 simple types’ rule. Therefore, I will go to explain case by case below:

How to apply:

Past → Present

  • If I had taken an aspirin, I wouldn’t have a headache now.

(I wish I swallowed a aspirin pill, so now, I don’t need to suffer from a very bad headache)

Past → Future

  • If I had known that you’re going to come by tomorrow, I would book a restaurant.

(I wish I knew you are planning to come by tomorrow, so I will call a restaurant and book a table for us)

Present → Past (This is similar to type 3, an unreal, impossible to happen condition)

  • If she had enough money, she could have done this trip to Hawaii.

(Right now, she doesn’t have money, but she wish she could have money for a Hawaii trip).

Future → Past (This is similar to type 2, an unreal, possible and likely to happen, but can’t do it, because have pre-planned for other things)

  • If I weren’t flying to Saigon, I would have planned a trip to Nha-Trang.

(He is about going to Saigon, because he is in busy of working or something, and he wish he wouldn’t no longer need to go to Saigon(or he regrets that he booked the flight to Saigon), He will take a flight to Nha Trang for vacation)

Future → Present (This is similar to type 2, an unreal and going to happen if you do so)

  • If I were taking this exam next week, I would be high-strung.

(I haven’t taken the test, I think I will take it next week, and if I took it, my grade would be high)

Methods for stylising If sentences:

  1. If can be replaced with alternations if you think you have repeated multiple times the particle “If”. However, the rule is remained. Here is the list:

2. If can be changed to when when used in type 0:

  • If you heat ice, it melts → When you heat ice, it melts

3. In case (of)= if (in some contexts)

  • if there is a fire, leave the room → In case of fire, leave the room
  • I need painkillers if I’m in severe pain → I need painkillers in case i’m in severe pain.

4. Omitting if:

  • If I had known you’re my daughter, I would have treated you better → Had I known you’re my daughter, I would have treated you better.
  • If you were my daughter… → Were you my daughter,…
  • If you need my advice… → Should you need my advice,…

Rule of using Will and Would in a If sentence

  1. Will is used to disapproval of a habit → If you will leave the bike here without locking, then you must expect it to be stolen.
  2. Will and Would are used to make a polite request, however, will is more direct than would, therefore, would is more formal than will →If you will/would sign this document where I have indicated, we can arrange payment.

--

--

oliverhuynh

"Begin at once to live, and count each separate day as a separate life." - Seneca